Sunday, Mar. 20, 2005 11:55 am

End of SXSW

My diary appears to be all screwy today.... but I hope that's on their end and it will be fixed soon. I can't worry about it. But I do need to get back in the habit of updating... now that I have my own little computer back in my office again. It makes me happy and still uneasy.... .like a lover that leaves you and then comes back: You just don't know if that commitment is there and you hate to put too much trust in the relationship.

I've never had a lover leave and then come back so I'm basing that previous paragraph only on movies and soap operas.

Mark is having a really long week. Yesterday he worked from 2 a.m. (after a 5 hour restless nap) until 11 p.m. last night. He finally got to come home and have a good 9 hours of sleep and didn't have to get up and run to work in a hurry. Today they will clean and sort through all the equipment they used all week and return borrowed things. Tomorrow he will have the day off.

I have the day off today and have no plans. I want to finish my thank you notes and clean house and finish laundry. I would also sort of like to go to Home Depot and do a couple of things. I should finish taxes and clean off my desk and see if bills are being paid and weed the garden and go for a walk.... I may just go take a nap instead.

Yesterday I was on the air during a bunch of hail and rain. It made the day go faster, and my voice was quite normal for most of the show. I don't really know what the difference in the day was, but it was great to feel it. I'm thinking now that maybe I didn't have coffee yesterday morning? I wonder if that had an effect?

Friday was my big day this week I guess. I broadcast from the Backyard and the Willie show. My board op at the station is a nice guy but timid and he cannot work quickly and does not learn well at all. There were many many things that he wasn't capable of making happen and I heard lots of things on the air that were just wrong. It was very frustrating. I was so glad when it was over. At least I haven't had to do two weeks at the rodeo with him on the board.

I introduced all the acts at the concert, including Willie. Not quite the thrill it was last year, but still nice and the audience was more our audience than last year. I was sure glad we had the good weather for ours. The other station had "their" show last night and it did happen, but I bet their parking lot was muddy and it was much cooler---weatherwise only.

I only stayed for about an hour of Willie. I moved on then to see DD up the road. I wouldn't have stayed too long there because I was worn out, but Mark had called to warn me he was going to be home sleeping so I hated to go home and disturb him (and then be disturbed myself when he got up at 2 a.m.)so I stayed late. It was nice to see DD and his cousin. She came and spent the night here (or a few hours anyway... she was up and out early). It was also very nice to have LOTS of people that listen to me come over and say hi. I got a lot of strokes. One nice man told me what a difference I make in his day. He has a tough boring job and he said when he hears me on when he gets into the car it makes him realize that there is still a lot of the day left and it is all good. I was glad to get some positive attention.

And I also went to the naturopath this week and I have a LONG list of instructions and a big tray full of pills from her. Everything from breathing in colors and visualizing a blue light on my throat to organic lithium for depression (who knew there was such a thing!).

I have a full day ahead of me. I hope I get some things accomplished. At least I have written in my diary and that's a start.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland