2000-03-20 21:34:48

SXSW Part 2

Well, I didn't intend to leave you hanging for days and days for the final hours of my SXSW evening. And, of course, the enthusiasm of the moment is long past and now it will be a rote, "I went here, I did this, I met this person" recital.

To continue from the last entry. I believe I was last coming in from the rain on Sixth and headed to the Broken Spoke with drippy hair and the shivers.

The Spoke wasn't nearly as crowded as the venues on Sixth Street---partly because it is bigger, partly because it is away from the "walk around" crowd and partly because so many people at SXSW aren't here to hear country acts.

Tracie Lynn was on stage when I got there. I'd never heard of her (funny how small the world is though---my ever-lovin' husband the drummer got a call to play for her this coming weekend in Ft. Worth). She is a tall, pretty, and talented singer. Don't know if that gets you anywhere in this world but she certainly had all the things that Martina McBride and Faith Hill have except maybe connections.

When I first walked into the Broken Spoke I saw a short guy with a bald head and long long hair standing nearby. Despite seeing so many famous people that you "know you know" during SXSW I really KNEW I knew this guy. I went over to talk to him and couldn't figure out where I knew him from. He didn't know me (never fails). Then I find out he is from Amarillo and is the guitar tech for the Amarillo band Cooder Graw. I knew him back in my Amarillo days pre-1985. I never knew him personally, he was just one of those guys that you regularly saw out and about when you were on the town. Very nice guy and we caught up on Amarillo. I mentioned my old roommate B! who I knew he would know and he said, "Yes, she doesn't come out much anymore, I haven't seen her in a while." I told him it could be because she moved to Maui two years ago. Kind of hard to go clubbing in Amarillo when you're home is 1000 miles away.

This story will have to be continued again, dammit. Sorry. I'm at work and our other computers, the one I actually do work on, began functioning again. I'm kind of back into the story now thought so I hope it won't be as long delayed as this installment...

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland