Saturday, Mar. 17, 2012 1:36 pm

SXSW and birthday

I look back on entries where I was tired and worn out and hate to start that way on an entry again, but that's where I'm at. My joints are killing me. My thumb, my heel, my scapula, my hips.

I decided to follow my mother's great advice of "When in doubt, don't" and am going to stay home this afternoon. There are no shows I'm dying to see, no one I look forward to meeting up with, and no desire to put on clothes right now, so I'm staying in. Mark just got home a short while ago from his marathon night and he is now sleeping. I hope he can sleep for 6 full hours before he goes back at it. He is really running on fumes, so I have no reason to complain. Though I know if I had work to do I'd be doing it, too. That's just the way we are.

I have indulged in some SXSW this week and the highlight was seeing the Steeldrivers at Threadgill's on Wednesday night. That was fun. Other than that I've mostly seen bands I've seen a lot or bands I've never heard of. I did walk a long way yesterday (our office to beyond Whole Foods and then back to Whole Foods and then all the way back) and I'm a little sore from that, but it didn't kill me so maybe I am getting stronger.

I had a good birthday. I guess I should mention that. We had a lovely dedication ceremony in our offices for our dear departed friend Barry. His family was there and there was lots of tears remembering him. Such a sweet guy. The sound system our engineer built in that room is awesome. We listened to some records in there and I want to do that some more.

I also went to my friend Jenni's for my birthday and enjoyed a glass of wine and some food with 5 members of my obit club and some others. That was nice, but I was glad to be done and go home. Lots of calls and letters and cards and many many Facebook wishes. I was happy.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland