Friday, Mar. 17, 2006 11:17 am

Birthday success

My birthday this year was a big success. I got lots of love and attention and that is what I CRAVE and MUST HAVE. Of course, I want it to continue and now the birthday is over. Sigh.

The salespeople (at least most of the ones I like) took me to lunch and even had a gift card from Home Depot for me. They've never done a gift for me before so that was very nice. We had a great lunch at the Cypress Grill. Etouffee.... yummm. And Red Velvet cake (at their insistence). And wine!

At work a beautiful dozen roses was waiting for me. Fabulous huge HUGE long stemmed roses with red on the inside of the petals and yellow on the outside. Really unique. Mark doesn't stand a chance with grocery store flowers against these from my florist friend. While I was on the air Kevin's band/family brought me a green plant with balloons (big balloons) attached to it. And I got candy from my friend Jimmy, too. Ray Wylie was on my show and he brought Judy and Lucas. They gave me a new t-shirt and he sang to me on the air. Lots and lots of calls.

The iPod continued to give me trouble so I took it back to Best Buy yesterday. I wanted them to just give me another one, but the guy fiddled with it and was able to load songs from his computer onto it so he wouldn't exchange it. I brought it straight home (although I was already late for work) and loaded mine and it worked so I hope it continues to work this way. I like it. I listened in the car and at work.

I did go to the Chronicle awards and it was moderately enjoyable. My favorite part was that Guy got best male vocalist of the year and he thanked Mark in his speech! I never would have known if I hadn't been there and I was so proud! He didn't think 20 people, maybe 7? and Mark was one of them. Very classy.

Of course, I didn't get dj of the year, though one of my co-workers did and I'm glad because he's very good. But, on the list in the paper I did come in at #11. I laughed because I had talked about the list with Margaret on Monday and how important the LIST was to me to see where I fell in the hierarchy. Every other list in the paper was the top 10, but mine was 11. I just feel that she saw that and said, You know, she's close and she needs that validation, go ahead and put all 11 on that list. Hmmmmm, and I wonder who was number 12?

Yesterday I had Wade and Jarrod on my show and Brian from Jarrod's band. They were good, not great. Jarrod is a better guest than Wade and I just wish I could turn down all future requests for interviews with Wade.

Last night I worked late trying to get my tracking and logs done and then went to Momo's to see Bobby Bare's SXSW showcase. I had to drive around forever trying to find parking. Actually found a spot on the street, which thrilled me. I didn't trust these little makeshift parking lots by aparments where I felt like someone was just putting up a sign and grabbing a few dollars and your car would still be towed in an hour.

I got to the door of Momo's though and it was packed and they said they didn't have any guest list and they weren't selling tickets (not that I would have paid!). I texted with my record rep and was ready to leave because it was so crowded and I hate being rebuffed like that. Bobby Bare sounded great, though, and I wanted to hear more. She told me to go to the back of the club and I did and found her that way. And that side of things wasn't crowded at all so I didn't have to get claustrophobic. I enjoy her company, she's very fun. Bobby was great, too. I got to meet him and he seemed very sweet. I also met most of the Greencards. I've introduced them before, but never really met but one or two of them. Got to tell the American one how much I enjoyed him playing with Robbie Fulks last summer.

Stayed for a bit of the next performer, who was more new agey rock, but good, and then I went on to another promotion that we were having at Waterloo Ice House. We had our Texas artists there this week and that's what we've been promoting. It was packed, inside and out. But I knew everyone that was there so that made it fun. MM and I shared a chair inside and listened to Ray and Cory and Wade play. Ray just blows everybody away every time. I would be petrified to be in a song swap with him.

Left there and took the long walk back to my car, but I enjoyed that because it was beside old Austin homes and was a nice warm night and made me think of Austin in the 20s or 30s and what it must have been like.

Mark was just getting up when I came in so we caught up a little before he went to work. This is his very very chaotic day with lots of gear needing to go out, but nothing can be prepped to go out until something arrives back in.

Today I'm going to try to get out of here and get a haircut. I need to get a card and gift for Grandmother. I still have lots of tracking and logs to do before I am through. AND I've got Radney and Rick T on my show today and I am not prepared AT ALL for those two interviews. Tension tension.

I think, though, I am going to take the night off. Willie is in town, Kevin is in town, a dinner with Radney and Bobby Bare is going on. I really could be the belle of the ball at many places, but I think I'll take care of work without rushing, dub off the interviews I've done this week, get the presents I need, pack my bag and go to bed early, if possible. Right now there is a possibility that I will have to work some tomorrow afternoon. I hope that falls through. I really need to get on the road to Tyler in daylight.


Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland