2000-03-17 02:42:16

SXSW Fun

I'm sure it has been awhile since I updated. I haven't even looked to see when it was. Meanwhile I've gone to a wedding in Ft. Worth and seen grossly overweight women (prompting me to eat more Mexican food), found out about a cousin in jail, visited the family, went with Dad for a cat scan (and we're still waiting for results) and brought the nephews home for a few days of their Spring Break. Oh, yes, and I turned 41. Yawn. No biggie.

But TONIGHT, what a fun night I had. I had no idea this night would end up being so fun. My New Year's Resolution to "be brave" came in quite handy and the results were fantastic.

South By Southwest (SXSW) is going on in Austin. I have always wanted to be around it or be a part of it and have never been in Austin when it takes place. My dear friend Jamey is at it each year as a radio person and he keeps me informed of the latest scoop. This year I actually LIVE here and could participate in any way I wanted. I fully intended to walk up and down Sixth Street to feel the atmosphere, but things got even better this week.

Long story short, I ended up with a wristband which has compelled me to go to more venues and be braver. If I'm paying a cover charge, I will blow it off and go home but when I have a $95 wristband (even if I didn't pay for it) I feel like I should get my money's worth.

I finished work tonight and went down the street to the Soho Lounge to check out the songwriter's performing there. My main impetus was to see John David Souther. He is the songwriter of many of the Eagles songs and he had a hit of his own with "You're Only Lonely" and he was in the Souther-Hillman-Furay supergroup too. I have desperately wanted to see him perform for years. He just doesn't ever do it! He is an Amarillo native and that is why I have such an affection for him. I have met him and own all his records but I've never seen him perform.

As luck would have it, J.D. opted out of the performance he was scheduled for. I know I saw Jim Lauderdale, who was a lot better than I expected (a great songwriter but I haven't liked his albums but he was great live) and Kim Richey and the guy from Whiskeytown and two other girls that I don't know but I will find out who they were. It was a long wait to get in and we were packed in like sardines in a sweaty hot upstairs at the Soho but it was enjoyable.

Coming out of the Soho I find it cold and raining---hard. Not easy to walk down Sixth and enjoy the ambience with the driving rain so I headed back to the office and garage. I decided to be brave and go to the Broken Spoke. And that's when things got really good. . .

But, unfortunately, at this point, Mark comes home from his gig and I must go lavish attention on him since he was working while I was off having fun in the true Austin style.

I will finish my night of fun very soon. I promise!

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland