Tuesday, Mar. 15, 2005 12:20 pm

Happy Birthday To Me!

The birthday is officially here and, happily, I am feeling better about everything. My computer arrived yesterday! I spent a harried morning waiting for it, hoping for it, and worrying how I was going to get someone to sign for it once I had to go to work. I was calling interns, scouting for warm bodies, and finally enlisted the help of the neighbor across the street. She caught the UPS man and signed for it and I now have a working computer in my office again. Hooray. I sat here for hours last night loading software, rewriting the address book, writing long thoughtful letters without being signed off the website. It makes me happy.

Many many emails and ecards this morning made me happy as well. And calls! A couple of calls. And I hadn't gotten the mail yesterday so I got it this morning and had cards and a package from my sister. I was a little taken aback with the card from my best friend B! in Ohio, though. It started "May God be with you..." It just wasn't the type of card I expect from her! Then I read further and realized it was a sympathy card for my grandmother's death. Okay. Makes sense.

Mark was also very sweet about the birthday. I knew not to expect a gift from him and was fully aware of that... which is much better than expecting something and not getting anything. Last night I found a dozen stargazer lilies waiting for me in a vase and then when I went to bed (Mark was at a gig) there were cards from him and the cats on my pillow. Very sweet.

Tonight I will go to two parties (neither one for me) and see how much fun I can have. I have a friend going with me to the second one, but he knows I might bail at any time. He is independent and doesn't need me to be there. He was with me at this party last year and we had a good time, so it will be nice to have him there again.

I got up too early this morning and I'm afraid I'm going to be sleepy through the afternoon. I may have to make an exception to my no caffeine after noon policy and swing through a Starbucks. After all, it is my birthday!

Happy Birthday To Me!

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland