Friday, Mar. 14, 2008 1:11 pm

My week

They've gone and changed the look of Diaryland (on my side of it) again! But this is the more familiar blue, so I'm okay with it. It brings me comfort. I know where I am and what I'm doing when I see that soothing blue tone.

I just don't write here anymore, do I? And I need to, there is lots to tell and ruminate over.

My sister and family did NOT come last Friday night after all, which was a relief in many ways. I was glad I had cleaned house, though, so we enjoyed that for, oh, about 30 seconds before it all fell to crap again. I didn't have to get up and go see the nephew race either, but they did win a heat and went on to the next round, which was exciting for them.

I had a lovely dinner last Friday night with Ellie. She is so fun to be around. We had Chinese and then went to a coffeehouse to see a friend play. Just realized I need to write about that in my other blog, too. I've fallen very behind on my writing there, too, but part of it was that I wrote a really LONG piece last night and then boom, error, it was gone. I almost cried!

Last weekend Mark worked non-stop so I mostly worked on "work," as in those scripts and transcriptions. That took most of Saturday day. Then I did a lot of genealogy Saturday night. Somewhere things in there were cold and rainy (Sunday or MOnday?) and I did more genealogy.

I did go to the eastside on Monday and it was really good. Met some interesting kids at my table and had a good time overall. Then got a little claustrophobic and needed to pee real bad (and I don't like their bathrooms, that's a fact) so I came on home.

I have "worked" for MM this week, though that hasn't amounted to much, which I will miss when it is time to ask for some pay. We went yesterday to a record party and today more music and parties. I'm starting a little later today and will last a little longer into the evening tonight.

Yesterday I also braved Sixth and saw my friend Tom's cousin play blues. Amazing kid. Really good. And cute and charming, too.

One interesting experience of the week, that can only be written about here, is M&M's total disorganization. Wednesday afternoon I am working on the computer and she is upstairs working on her taxes for 2004 (that's never a good thing to be working on taxes four years late) and the electricity popped off. I hollered up to see if she had lost electricity or if my monitor had just gone out. No, it was electricity, but she quickly assured me that it was not because she hadn't paid the bill. That hadn't even crossed my mind, I figured an outage in the area or something. I called Austin Energy while she railed and cussed (especially since the computer was OFF! She had heard me say it was "still running"-- which it was, momentarily, as the battery kept it going long enough to shut down, I assume. The fan and computer had continued to run after the outage.). So I get the electric company and find out that it had been cut off, indeed, because of an unpaid bill.

I am prepared to talk to them about payment, but they need to talk to her. Then they put her into the automated system and it wants her account number. She doesn't have it. She hangs up and cusses and says she's just shredded everything with an account number, how in the hell is she supposed to know her stupid account number. She goes hunting somewhere for a bill and I quietly flip through a few pieces of mail in her office and find not one, but two, unpaid bills. So she gets back on the automated system, goes through and pays the $359 overdue and another $200 or so that is due soon, and then has to call back the first person and give them the confirmation number so it can all be turned on again. Of course, there is also the $80 reconnect fee and the power won't be on again until who knows when.

So, at that point, I pack up and leave. Which is why I've only worked an hour and a half this whole week. No, I take that back, I worked Tuesday all afternoon, I think, and that counts, too.

I went to a SX party and ran into the man that worked the most for her over the last few years and he quit last year. I told him I had no idea she was this way. He said she certainly was and he finally couldn't do it anymore (that, plus he married a woman that makes good, no, great, money). He said he was surprised she isn't in prison with the way she handles things---not intentionally deceptive or anything, just overlooked things, like taxes and employee taxes, etc. I expect I need to find another way to make a living as soon as I can and gracefully exit. She knows I need a real job so she won't mind, I just need to find one. And I am looking, that is for sure.

I have done more typing this week than I expected with the main doctor out of town. The young female doctor has had several and the male that I used to work with had one. Man, he slurbed and slobbered and breathed heavy through the entire thing, along with mumbling and repeating himself. Irritating. Sometime I need to transcribe it EXACTLY how they say it and we'll see if that's what they want! ha. Of course I won't.

The sun is bright and shiny and I guess I'll go get out in the record-breaking heat of today. Tomorrow is my birthday and I don't feel like it at all. M&M and Frenchy are taking me to brunch at the Four Seasons, which is lovely of them.

Oh, and a trend came out yesterday and my old station fell from #1 to tied for #4. One of the Spanish stations is at the top of the heap. I hope I get to hear some of the details of the trend. I guess the spring book starts in a week or two. Thank God I don't ever have to structure my life around ratings anymore. Mark I are certainly going to take a bluebonnet trip this year.

My Mom had wanted to come down for my birthday. It was looking like we wouldn't be able to make it happen with getting her to an airport or meeting in the middle or whatever. I finally talked to her and she only wanted to come because she thought I would be alone with Mark working and all. I reassured her that I wouldn't sit at home alone, I would be fine. So she'll come later when we've got more time for her. With Mark's sleep schedule completely disrupted, it would be weird for everyone to have her here, I think.

I am doing a good job this year of making Mark sandwiches to take to work, I made cookies last night and took them (and milk!) up there for him and the guys, and I'm keeping casseroles and ice cream in the fridge so he has stuff to eat when he comes home. Comfort food for the 24-hour-man. We did have a chance to sit on the porch and talk this morning (well, I think I talked and he just listened). That was nice.

I'll get dressed soon and go into town. There's a thing M&M set up at the Grove and then some other parties around town we will make. Should be fun.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland