Tuesday, Mar. 14, 2006 12:00 pm

Birthday beginnings

This week is already flying by. It is noon and I haven't been up long. I put up darkeners (sometimes called beach towels) over the bedroom windows to help Mark sleep this week during SXSW, but they sure are keeping me asleep in the morning too.

Sunday I went to the songwriter honor thing at the cafe and saw Sonny and Freddie and Kris sing. It was nice, but I was antsy and not in the mood particularly. Came home and slept and slept while Mark "napped." My nap ended up being about 5 hours and his, seven. He then went on to work at midnight while I just killed time. I did watch the first new show of the Sopranos and WOW Tony got shot! That was a surprise. I need to re-watch last season to remember what happened.

Did do a lot of work on genealogy, too, and was studying documents I have. Then, much to my surprise, I discovered that we were married in Collin County! We had our marriage license issued in Dallas County and it was filed in Dallas County, but we were married in Collin! I worried a bit that it wasn't legal, but I think it is. If not, we've sure been living in sin a long long time.

Dad had his surgery yesterday to get the port and plug installed. That took about six hours at the hospital, but then he got to go home. My sister kept me well informed through the day. It felt weird to be here doing my normal thing while they waited at the hospital. It will be even weirder next week when he starts the chemo.

Last night I celebrated my birthday at the club on the east side. The two sweet girls that are always there having fun that have become my friends, even though they are plenty young enough to be my daughters, brought me a big stalk of ginger and a big stalk of bird of paradise and a card. Very sweet. That really made my night. And Mark made a sweet speech at the end of the night and I got a big ovation from the crowd and that was fun. Maybe I don't need any more birthday than that (nah!).

I am glad I slept a long time because I have a long day ahead of me. I am going to Ray's birthday party tonight for the third year. Meeting my friend Jimmy there, but I know lots of others that will be there, too, so it should be a fun night. I don't know what to wear but I'd better start figuring it out.

And tomorrow night I'm going to the Chronicle awards. Sadly, not as a winner. But I haven't ever been so it should be a fun night. Margaret from the Chronicle was on my show yesterday and I really enjoy her. She is so knowledgeable about Austin music and the whole city. She was kind enough to put me on the guest and media list for tomorrow night, so I will enjoy that.

So, despite some down feelings over the weekend and some dread about this week, it is going well. The salespeople are taking me to lunch tomorrow and Mark said he does have a gift and a card for me this year, so that is a key factor in making me feel loved.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland