Monday, Mar. 14, 2005 11:15 am

Bummed pre-birthday

The birthday is almost here and I'm dreading it. Isn't that sad? I'm not dreading the age or transition, I'm just dreading the lack of celebration and attention I'm afraid I'm going to get. Pitiful, isn't it?

I had decided this year not to have my own breakfast celebration like I did last year because I knew that made for a very long day. One of the guys in my groups said one year he just emailed a bunch of friends and said he would be a certain pub on Friday night and invited them to come have a drink with him. Turned out to be one of his best birthdays.

I decided to follow that lead. I talked to a couple of people at work on Friday and suggested they meet me at Shady Grove. Then I emailed a bunch of others. There were many stupid mistakes in my efforts... I probably should have made people RSVP so I would have an idea who would be coming and I should have made some invitations by phone to encourage people to be there. And, I should have thought about what might be going on during that time period. As it was, Zilker Park was having the kite flying festival and there were thousands of people trying to jam their way into the park. I couldn't get there by way of MoPac so I circled back and came up Lamar. After much waiting in line and gnashing of teeth, I found an illegal parking spot in front of a dumpster and I risked it. I got to Shady Grove maybe 15 minutes after the appointed beginning time. I figured anyone that might have arrived on time wouldn't leave that fast if I weren't there... But no one was there so I got a margarita and settled to wait. But what if everyone that decided to come got caught in the traffic and said "It's not worth it!".... I know I would if it had been me as a guest and not the host. I didn't know what time frame I should wait. I knew I wouldn't wait all the way to four o'clock, especially as I thought about my car being towed and really ruining my day.

So I sat and read my book and basked in the sun a bit. The place, fortunately wasn't crowded, and there actually were parking spots in their parking lot if anyone could have gotten that far. I finally gave up a little after 3. I figured since I had said 2 to 4, probably no one would try to arrive that late.

One of the two I had talked to and invited on Friday called about 4:15 and he and his girlfriend had just arrived and were looking for me. Of course, they were a couple and together and even without me they stayed and had dinner. I'm glad he called.

So all in all I was bummed out and kicking myself for planning that doomed this outing. Another friend (that I had forgotten to invite) called earlier in the day and invited me to join her and her friends way up north for a drink. Nice to get that invitation, but I called and bailed on her later because I didn't want to drive all the way up there to be with a bunch of 20-somethings that I didn't know.

Instead I stayed home and napped and watched TV and bored myself to sleep again. Mark came in long after I had gone to bed and was out the door this morning before I had shaken off the sleepies. I expect that the way it will be all of this week.

So, I'm still down in the dumps and feeling sorry for myself. Yes, I know there are people starving in this town and I'm healthy, etc. etc. I know all that, but I'm bummed. And I'm bummed because UPS is going to try to deliver my computer again today and I have a feeling they are sitting at the end of the block just waiting until they see me leave so they can leave the sticker on the door again and leave laughing. I have a call into the station looking for an intern to come sit here and wait for the UPS man in my stead. No call back yet.

IF, and that is a big capital letter if, I get the computer today, at least that will give me something I can do tonight.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland