March 01, 2003 8:42 am

Ice and Ingram

I thought I had added an entry during the ice storm, but I think diaryland was down when I tried to do it and I never got back to it. I survived the worst ice storm we've had since I lived in Austin. I was on the air during the worst of it Monday afternoon and had to chip my car out of it with a Blockbuster Video card (not recommended). Not a big deal to get home and then back out on Tuesday, at least I didn't have to get on a highway. I'm pleased the office is now five miles from my home. It would have been nice to have a "snow day," but it is also nice to go to work and feel like I've accomplished something.

I love my husband and I love being married, but it very nice to be alone today. Mark had a gig in Houston last night and is on his way to Dallas today. He'll be home late late late tonight and sleep all day tomorrow. I'm up early with the radio turned on to our classic country show. Laundry is chugging, the cat is out exploring, I'm drinking coffee, writing, and doing stuff. It is very nice. Just a precursor of the month he'll be in Europe. I'm sure there will be much missing him and loneliness, but lots of pleasure in reading in bed late into the night, no earplugs to sleep, and not having to think too hard about what I OUGHT to do.

Last night, B! went with me to the Saxon to see Jack Ingram. Man, he was great. Again, some rude audience members that are willing to pay $15 to sit and TALK IN LOUD VOICES while someone is telling fabulous stories and playing guitar on stage. What is with these people? I met Jack in October when he was on my show before I officially had the job. He liked my Willie Nelson candle so I gave it to him. He said he was going to burn it on stage for as many gigs as it would last. I told him that, at that point, I'd get him another. He acted like I had given him the world. I got a letter from him a month or so later telling me that someone had stolen that Willie candle from the stage that very night at the Backyard. spht spht I put my curse on that person. I would have mailed Jack a new candle, but I couldn't read his return address on his envelope. So, finally, last night I had the opportunity to give him another Willie candle and he was very appreciative.

His show was inspiring. It was such a one man show exposing (not literally) himself and how he created his songs. He would tell stories and then sing and then break a string and curse and sing some more. He never stumbled over his words or got distracted. It could be a live album. The place was packed, but the line outside was huge for the second show. The second show was the KGSR show that they broadcast on the radio.

I dropped by the cafe after to just be out a little longer. The Boxcar Preachers were playing, but I didn't get much from them. The cafe has a new menu that I'm glad I don't have to deal with. They are quite proud of their sandwiches, apparently. Who can afford to eat out anymore?

Everytime I write here, I'm certain that kitties are imminent from Miss L Toe. Screw it, she's just fat.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland