Sunday, Jun. 08, 2008 10:04 am

The Lady that Wouldn't Stop

I did put writing on my list yesterday, but I never got around to it. I need to write in the other blog, too, and tell about my night out at the dancehall in the country. I wish I could write in my big blog the really funny stuff that happens, but I don't want to hurt anyone's feelings. I would write about the hicks that I conversed with and had a delightful time. "I wanted to call up there and see what sort of bullshit they's pulling on us?" he said about my being fired. The funniest (but not at the time) was when his wife, and they are both delightful people, by the way, asked a nearby woman "What was it that you had that you needed those transfusions for?" Okay, you'd think that would be a simple question that could be answered with a word or two. No, it launched that woman into a 20 minute diatribe of the history of her disease, that included WAY too many references to menstruation, bleeding, tissue, urine, etc. I don't even know this woman and she's telling me about straining her urine for a kidney stone. Gross gross gross. At one point in the monologue, her husband asked her something and she was distracted for a moment and my friend said, "sorry!" I tried to change the subject at one point and direct it elsewhere, but that woman pulled it right back. I tried to find some common ground with her and mentioned a woman I knew at the blood center (who I can't really tolerate and hope I never have to work with her again in my life). This lady says, "You and I and ___ (that woman) will organize a blood drive, will you do that?" No, I told her, I don't do that. She asked me more than once and I had to, more than once, say, no, I don't do that. When she finally left I had a magazine in my hand and I beat my friend about the neck and shoulders for getting that started. oh my

The magazine I beat her with was the latest Best in Texas magazine with my article in it. I need to read the rest and see what it has in it, but my article and byline look nice and I am proud of it (well, sort of, I wish it were better). I'm going to write something for them about this show I go to Tuesday night, too. Maybe one day they will pay me.

Yesterday was a day off and I enjoyed it. I gardened. I mowed the lawns and tried to dig a hole for the rose bush. That was a bigger challenge than I could have imagined. I gave up about six inches down. It may end up being in a raised bed! I mulched and watered my tomatoes and cleared out the weeds and grasses around them. There are plenty more weeds and grasses in that big bed, but I didn't get to it all. Way too hot. WAY too hot.

I cleaned the litter boxes well and put in all new litter. I changed our sheets and washed our pillows. I folded laundry and got it put away. I went to the grocery and got a few things we needed and used my reusable bags to bring them home in. I got in a good nap about 6 p.m., too, and I think it may have caught me up for the week (notice how early I am up today). And I cooked a frozen lasagna we had from Carino's and we had that when Mark got home from his gig in College Station.

I tried looking for some spots to send to that ad agency and have had no luck on this computer and the external hard drive. I don't know if I have something on CD somewhere or not? How weird to be in radio 30 years and not have some spots here somewhere. I know I have had some in the past.

My friend Steve in Dallas had a horrible experience yesterday. His wife and son were in a terrible auto accident when a woman ran a red light and t-boned them in a major intersection. A few second difference and his wife would certainly be dead. Fortunately, the other car hit just in front of the driver's seat, but still managed to knock the car completely around. She bumped her head badly on the window, but was not transported by ambulance. The other driver was fine, too. How chancy is every second of our days? I think we have those near miss moments more than we even are aware of and we are lucky (and blessed) to survive every day.

I was thinking of the people in New Orleans that survived (or didn't) Katrina. It has been so hot these past few weeks and I can't imagine how horrible it would be to be standing in the street (or on a roof) without a fan, shade, food, water, anything. Bless them all. I hope they've found better lives for themselves now and are back on their feet. That was a national tragedy.

Today I will go out to the Lake and hopefully spend most of the day in air conditioning reading a book. I don't quite know what my purpose will be there except to be back-up for the girl in charge. Hopefully this won't be required every Sunday, but it is good hours and good pay and I can't complain about that because it is certainly easy work, too.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland