Thursday, Jun. 09, 2005 10:17 am

Women!

I still feel like crap this morning, worrying over my friend. I hope he's okay. I would call, but it seems a little early. If he is getting any sleep, I don't want to disturb it.

Other that that fiasco yesterday, I had an interesting afternoon. Our two artists for last night at the cafe were on my show. They are both beautiful girls and I like them both, but one more than the other. But I was disappointed in that they talked non-stop, both on and off the air and interrupted constantly. I would have switched the radio off if I were a listener because there was so much chaos in the room.

The worst though, was as I tried to do my commercial for a new chinese restaurant. I had told the girls they could chime in, because that can be good. It had been good the day before with another artist, but he, apparently, knew what I was asking. I was IN THE FREAKIN' MIDDLE of a description of a dish when one of the girls pipes up with "try pot stickers, pot stickers are so good, pot stickers are these fabulous little dumplings..." I just stared hard at her until she finally SHUT UP (not nearly soon enough) and I tried to continue where I was, but I know I was flustered and pissed and it probably sounded like that. I closed the mics and said "THEY DONT HAVE POT STICKERS!" She's going, "Sure they do, it is a chinese restaurant." Un-fucking-believable.

All in all, though, their show last night was good. Not a big crowd, but the audience enjoyed it and it was good music. sigh. But I was so glad when it was over. My voice was going higher and higher and I have had more people ask what is wrong with it in the last three days than I did in the last couple of months. It is a lot easier to talk, so I do prefer it, but it isn't "MY" voice. I still miss my voice. But, it is strong and powerful and can be heard across the room or across the street if I need it.

Concerning the "condition" of dystonia (which includes all movement disorders)... I read that the botox can take 5 to 10 days to "work." Today will make 8 days, so I hope it "works" normally soon. It is really good in the morning, but then starts to climb as I start to talk. If I could not talk until I go on the air I would do better, I know, but that is difficult with production and work and listeners and co-workers and group today, etc. I've also been reading about how one dystonia might lead to another (writer's cramp, a neck thing that jerks your head sideways, etc.). I don't want to think about this being an issue that could get bigger and worse. That is frightening. I will continue with this course of treatment and talk to this doctor in San Antonio and see if he thinks I need to see a neurologist. I guess I could always go to that cute neurologist in Dallas that fixed Daddy's spine. He was the most compassionate doctor. And cute. Really really cute.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland