Tuesday, Jun. 07, 2005 10:57 am

Call me Julia

I thought I was keeping up with the journal. And here I've left you hanging for days while I've been off just yap yap yapping with my VOICE!

Yesterday was interesting. It was my first day back in the studio. I am keenly aware of my voice when I've got the headphones on, obviously. Yesterday I felt like either Julia Childs or a 14-year-old boy! My voice was higher pitched than "me" and it fluctuated without my permission! It was loud and strong and easier, but it was unpredictable. I just had to laugh sometimes when it went up up up and I couldn't reel it back in. That is part of the "settling in" process and will get better, I hear.

I sent flowers to Johnny and Lynda yesterday. How do you thank someone for what they've done? They called last night and are excited for me.

I had a full weekend with a remote and lots of work and visiting with B! and OhD! before B! heads back to Ohio. Sunday I worked some more, saw the journalers (and a new one, hi and welcome Cindy!), and bought a ton of groceries. I even mowed the lawn. Mark is working so hard and gone so much that I helped him out with that chore. It looks great. I should get out there and drink my coffee outside and just appreciate my pretty garden.

Our electricity went out late Sunday night. I was home alone working on the computer when everything went off...except the computer which went to the battery. It took me a minute to realize what had changed. It came on and then off again. I switched off the computer and felt my way through this dark dark DARK house. I went outside to the DARK street (but it was a bit lighter out there because of the stars). I said, "Is anybody out here?" and heard a disembodied voice say, "I'm over here." My neighbor was in his drive, but I couldn't see him. Flashlights appeared down the street and another neighbor stepped out, too. There was nothing really to do, so I went back in the house and dug out Mark's flashlight and a radio and listened for the next news... which told me absolutely nothing. I read a book for about 45 minutes with the flashlight (just like the PIONEERS!) and then it all came back on. Boy, it sure makes you appreciate it, doesn't it? I was wondering what it would be like to have "the grid" go down and be without for a few days. I'm afraid I would just have to pack up and leave town. No, I'm sure they would have plenty of generators to keep us on the air so I guess I would just live up there until it was fixed. Hopefully, the generators would keep the air conditioning and the freezer full of ice cubes working, too.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland