Friday, Jun. 06, 2008 11:43 am

Tired, not the first time

I just got up. Slept in too late, really. I need to get going. We were up super late last night because Mark didn't come home from work until about 2 a.m. By the time we visited and settled down, it was 3:30 and he still didn't come to bed then, watching some show about pyramids and the great statue of Zeus.

M&M has been out of town all week and that's been okay except for me having to move us. I did talk to the phone company today and have started that process of setting it up for June 20. I was at the Grove most of yesterday. Last night's show was the lightest of the year, but I just loved the atmosphere where you could walk around and get a drink and see people. I enjoyed it. The wind was high and there were times I was sure those branches were going to come down and touch us.

Paula opened and I am still not impressed with her. She's got a famous father and a lot of confidence and she's very pretty, so that has served her well. If she were anyone else she wouldn't be playing in hotel bars here, maybe doing okay in other cities. And I was surprised that George wasn't that good either. I used to like him, but he didn't seem very melodic in his singing. I might have to see him solo with a band again and see if I was just drunk that night long ago.

Tomorrow I hope to get a little rest and catch up. I'm already behind. Mark reminded me last night that I missed his mother's anniversary Wednesday and it was a big one. Stupid. I really meant to get a card off. I have a cousin with a birthday tomorrow and Monday. I need a card at least for Monday's.

Before I go to the office today I need to see if I can check her home phone remotely. Otherwise, I might need to go by and see what calls there have been. Now that I've discovered there are messages on her call notes! I had checked the machine before, but one day discovered the call notes and called it to find "197 new messages!" Augh. Some were from October, so it wasn't just me not checking.

I haven't written about politics this week, but I am incredibly proud that Obama is going to be the Democratic nominee. I can imagine how overwhelming it must feel to African-Americans. I have always wondered if it could happen in my lifetime, and it is closer than it has ever been. Of course, there are those that will still say we haven't had our first FULL black man be a candidate, or they'll challenge him since he doesn't descend from slaves. I'm not judging him on any of those things at all, so it doesn't matter to me. I believe he truly has the best interest of our country in mind (as does John McCain) and I think he is the smartest candidate and will listen and weigh issues, not relying solely on advisor's opinions, yet not making up his mind and not being willing to change it. This has been an interesting year so far and I expect it could get very interesting before November. But I am eager for a new President and a new era in our country. Our limitations now on travel and transportation and what we eat are getting more serious... along with the loss of life and hope in Iraq. The war has become secondary in my thinking because of troubles in my life and that is sad that it is just "something going on over there we need to deal with."

I need to be paid by M&M when she gets back next week. It is adding up and she may not have a check to cover it. That's scary. She is treading water at this point. Monday's checks should help her, though.

I did have an interesting opportunity sort of arise this week. I need to get a commercial demo tape together for an ad agency. I much preferred they would just call and say, We have a spot for you! But I will have to put some effort into it. Now, whether I can find things where my voice was working, I don't know. We'll see.

I could sit here writing all day . . . maybe I'll put that on my list for tomorrow.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland