Tuesday, Jun. 03, 2008 10:44 am

Hot weather, high bills

When problems come up at work, I try to think through what I would do if this were my business. It hasn't helped me much. A station paid an artist less than the contracted amount. I think M&M should have told them they owe the artist money, even if they think it wasn't a good show or what they contracted for. They should have paid her, told her, or at least told her and tried to pay her less if that's what they felt it was worth. They chickened out and just gave her the check and now she is mad at them. She would never lay for them again either way, but as a talent buyer, I think M&M should have made them do something differently.

Yesterday I had two double bookings. One could be seen as my fault. I offered they said can you pay more? I said no. They said, oh, okay, got it. They didn't say, We'll take it. I understood them to mean, okay, they understood my price, but not that they accepted. I had to tell her I didn't have this gig for her, but I will try to find another spot for her.

The other one was arranged in November long before I came along and I don't know what we're going to go there. How do you let the world know that they need to have more than an email to hold these dates. I will face that one today. If it were my business I wouldn't let these handshake deals get started months before the series.

M&M is off to Illinois again today so I am going to move the office this afternoon (a little). We only have a computer and chair. I will try to get phone service moved, too. Bother. She told me if all the checks go through that she has written she will be $16000 in the hole. And how am I supposed to remedy that? I think I'm depositing one check for her today for $3000, max. Most of these checks are going out tomorrow to people, to be cashed, certainly, before she is back! I putting out some invoices, but that money won't be in before she is back. Stress stress stress.

Great time last night on the east side. I drank too much, though. It was hot so I drank to cool off. Way hot. We were putting ice down our shirts and on our heads and necks and wrists trying to cool off. I don't know how the band did it. We were sitting on the "low" side of the floor and it felt like we were in a valley.

M and T's family from Holland is here visiting. T left for work and left his stepmother there, but he set the alarm. She opened the garage door to get some water and set off the system. Poor thing.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland