Thursday, Jun. 30, 2005 10:19 am

Worries piling up

This week is flying by. Or I'm sleeping it away, I guess. Fortunately, I haven't been too busy with activity so I've slept late every day trying to make up for Sunday's incredibly long day.

Last night we had Randy Rogers at the cafe. It was a great show. Really great show. I probably drank too much and stayed too late this time. It was hot hot hot. I went in after and saw a new guy that I like a lot, Ryan James. He is going to be big one of these days if he keeps doing what he's doing.

Work is distressing me a lot this week. Saturday night our promotions head mentioned that I would be doing my show live at the park on the Fourth. I hadn't heard a thing about it and thought (only since it was a company HOLIDAY) that I would be off. Usually on holidays we just record our shows unless something big is going on (i.e. Willie's picnic) and then THEY have to ask US if we can be on the air. I don't think it is a GIVEN that we WORK EVERY FUCKING HOLIDAY. Sorry. I am angry. I emailed the boss and the head of promotion asking about it and got snippy emails back about "didn't know you were going to take a vacation day" and "I didn't see any paperwork." It's a HOLIDAY. So, of course, I'm working and I am pissed about it.

Got another snippy email from the boss that same day. He's just being snippy is what it is. Today another "to the point" email without a "thanks" or "great job" or anything. I hate letting him have power over me and my mindset, but he is really screwing with me this week.

I have sounded very good on the air this week despite struggles with my voice. I may sound a little congested, but it isn't congestion, it is the spasms. I've saved some of the tracks for an aircheck (at home) in case I need it.

Issues at work are all I can think about. This thing coming up Monday hasn't been spelled out to us on the air at all. I love our little promotions girl, but she is getting scattered and less responsive lately. She's not doing what she needs to be doing. There was a sharp email from the sales manager today about it and about how the morning show didn't know a thing about it this morning and what a huge opportunity we missed by not getting this to them in time.

And I'm a terrible aunt. Today is my step-sister-in-law's baby's birthday. His first! And I haven't done a thing for him. All I've ever done for him is send a card and a gift about six months after he was born. Of course, he's in Washington so it isn't like I can visit easily, but I need to get more proactive about it. Or just quit worrying about it and let it slide. I have too many worries as it is.

And worries this week include death. Two years ago I was in Amarillo for a wonderful reunion when B!'s mom died there and I ended up staying extra days for her funeral. Last year it was Uncle H and I had to rush up for his funeral. And, let's just be morose, it was 32 years ago that Pappa died today. The days preceding July 4 have not always been easy on me! (it's all about me...)

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland