2000-06-29 11:34 pm

went to the Zach

A much less weepy day. Crisis averted . . . I hope.

Went to the Zach Theater tonight to see the play Abundance. It was written by Beth Henley who wrote the play and movie Crimes of the Heart (with Jessica Lange, Sissy Spacek and Diane Keaton). The play was very good and fast moving and never predictable. It ends this weekend but I recommend it. I went with a young friend from work. If it had been a date it would be the kind that I would probably turn down any future offers of dates, but since it was a girlfriend we'll probably continue to do stuff together. I seem to have much lower standards when it comes to girls.

It's been a long time since I've been to a show with a friend of this nature and it brought back one of my most hated traits: I hate to go to a funny show where my companion is constantly looking over to me to see my reaction. That has always driven me bonkers. I used to go to the comedy clubs weekly and take various friends but I would quit asking the ones that didn't just enjoy the show on their own and quit looking to me for my reaction. Big pet peeve that I had forgotten completely about.

Did a little bit of studio switching today and will probably complete the move tomorrow. I've been in the same recording studio for over a year and have become very very comfortable with it and its atmosphere. I think I will like the new studio though. It has a living plant in the studio and is much smaller and cozier. Plus, the window (all of the studios have windows to the hallway) is to my side not behind me. I've gotten used to having the window behind me and it does prevent a lot of the distraction of people passing by, but it is harder for someone to sneak up on you OR stand there watching you work when you are sideways to them instead of back to them.

Mark's off to Tyler tonight gigging. It's just overnight so I don't have much time to realize that he's gone or to do anything that needs to be done.

I am going to make an effort to go to the kitchen and relax. There has been a tiny gecko in there the last couple of days. Yes, I know they won't hurt me and I know we want geckos around and, no, I don't want to hurt him but he still makes me jump everytime he skitters by. He was in the dishwasher earlier today so I couldn't run it because I was afraid he would drown. I hope he is gone now so I can run the washer.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland