Monday, Jun. 28, 2004 11:14 am

Happy Drugs

I just realized I went through the whole weekend AND threw a party without the use of any added drugs this weekend (beyond the new prescription). That really is an accomplishment, I think.

The party yesterday went well and I am glad I did it. I think there were maybe ten guests here, so a dozen of us all together, and that's just about right for this house for a brunch. All of the ones that were here were my favorites. This was a party for former employees of my first job in Austin. I work with most of them now so I see them regularly, but we don't get to laugh and visit the way we did yesterday. It was really pleasant. A few were invited that are not my favorites and they didn't come and that was fine by me.

The party started promptly and ended nicely by two. The house was still nice and clean (the advantage of not having a nighttime "let's all drink and be stupid" party). We took a great long nap... which I wasn't sure would be possible since I had had about eight cups of coffee during the party.

I hope the good boss was comfortable and happy about the party. It's hard to tell. He is in an odd place right now as he tried to "find himself" and turn a page in his life.

Mark had a lot of time off this weekend so we finally were together a little while. That was nice. Most of it was spent sleeping... we were both worn out from the week. And nothing better than rain during a nap. We watched Dazed and Confused, which we'd never seen, and Six Feet Under.

We are wondering if we are about to enter a period of many funerals. Weird to contemplate, but it seems like we have a lot of aging relatives in bad shape. Hard to predict, but a sad sad letter about the condition of my favorite uncle makes us ponder it. He is relatively young, but in the hospital and not likely to go home (though we expect he'll go to a nursing home). Our grandmothers are both 95+ and in bad shape, especially mine. That would be a blessing if she could just slip away. Mark's grandmother at least can still live at home and enjoy TV and company.

On a brighter note, the holiday (ha!) weekend is coming and I need to find out how busy I am going to be. I know Saturday is chock full of remotes on opposite ends of the world, but shouldn't be any worse than this past Saturday (which was primarily exhausting because of the really late night Thursday). Mark's gone on July 4 for a gig and I expect I'm working Sunday and Monday, but I need to check it out. I need time off... badly... but it is such a hassle to get it that is it almost easier just to keep plodding along.

I guess I need to backtrack since I haven't written since Thursday. I did run up and see the show with DD on Thursday and it was wonderful and I was rather stupid in his presence. Typical. He's used to it. I was out incredibly late and then stayed up with Mark even later. I just can't handle those late nights.

Friday I had a remote way up north and it went fine until the rain dumped on us just before it ended. I barely dragged through the rest of the day, but still went to meet the big group of journalers at the Waffle House. What fun that was! I wish I had been able to keep my eyes open. But that big sweet pecan waffle and the scattered and smothered hash browns were THE BEST and the perfect carbo-loading I needed to come home and nap like the dead for a couple of hours. Nighttime naps are so cool. And, no, it didn't interfere with my nighttime sleep one bit. These drugs don't make me sleepier, necesssarily, but they certainly keep me from waking up as much in the night and I love that.

It's off now to another week of work. I'm looking forward to it. No dread! No fear!

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland