Monday, Jun. 25, 2007 11:52 am

The Weekend

I worked this weekend. I mean sweated and worked. I mowed the lawn on Saturday and did some clipping on the bushes. That left me so rubbery-armed that I didn't know if I could play at the Spoke or not! Yesterday I de-weeded the front garden and that took hours. It was a royal mess. Then, of course, I had to sack up all the trimmings, weeds, and grass and set it out by the street. I was beat!

Of course, being beat didn't mean I could sleep last night. I had had tea with caffeine in the evening and lay wide awake so I got up and played Solitaire until 4 a.m.

I also got the bigger bookcase that Daddy built put into my office and moved the smaller one to the garage so I can take it to work, maybe today. I cleaned out some of the books from my shelves and will take them to Half Price or somewhere sometime.

I have been trying to only have two things on my To Do list each day and actually DO them. Yesterday I had the task of cleaning the garden and cleaning the floor of my office. I did them both and feel a great sense of satisfaction.

I saw a favorite police officer out at the lake during my remote and committed to him that I would come to the Spoke Saturday night so I had to go, despite being dog-tired. He and his wife and his dad came and they were sweet and fun to visit with. My old friend Grace and her husband showed up and we had a good visit. A listener that is incredibly boring, but nice, was there, as usual, and waded through a hundred pictures on the tiny screen on his camera to show me pictures of his cat. And the sweet Prince Charming and his wife were there. I was glad to see him. He says that I "enrich his life" which is such a sweet thing to say.

It is thundering, I think, and supposed to rain some more today. I do love it. I don't mind rain almost every day. Maybe I should live in Seattle. Except I like the sunshine in between, too.

Yesterday Mark and I ate according to the South Beach Diet. I made omelettes for breakfast and hamburger patties and spinach salad for dinner. Delicious. I did get hungry a lot and had a couple of cheese sticks as snacks. Mark went out last night and drank, so I don't know that he'll get the benefit. Of course, I don't know if I can go out and not drink tonight. Isn't that awful? To not know that you DON'T have to drink. I can do it. There is no need for me to drink as often as I do, so I won't tonight.

Oh, and my performance at the Spoke on Saturday was my best ever. I really was confident and didn't practice before and it went fine. I wish I could play with a band more often and learn what I'm doing. It was fun.

Rain just began.... I think I'll go sit on the porch...

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland