Sunday, Jun. 25, 2006 9:29 pm

Drum Nerds

I am home again after three nights at Mom and Dad's for her surgery. All went well with the surgery and they didn't find any cancer in the lymph nodes, so all is well there. She will still have some radiation in a few weeks, but no chemo. She sat on the pot and threw up all afternoon after the surgery and was a willful patient, but I stuck with it, despite having had no sleep the night before, and put up with her and Daddy. They are sweet wonderful parents and I owe them everything, but I am happy to be home.

Well, I was. Mark seemed so happy to have me home and was excited to take me to a new place for lunch today. So we were really out on an adventure together. So nice to be a couple. Then I was patient as we went by the Guitar Center for him to buy some mics. Then I was patient as we went by an old drummers house and he got some cymbals and a drum at a great price. Then I was patient when another drummer called and wanted to come by to have a hole drilled in a drum. Mark even told him, hey, it's nap time, but if you'll come right now, I'll do it for you.

I quit being patient soon after. We visited a minute, I like this kid, then they went off to the garage. I laid down and read some on a book. Then, when I couldn't keep my eyes open anymore and they had been out there over an hour, I fell asleep. I probably hadn't been asleep a half hour when I was awokened (and didn't know where I was) by drumming in the garage. And more and more. Augh. No more sleep. I hadn't had enough and I was cranky. So I put on my clothes and go out to get groceries. The kid had parked behind my car again. I hate when he does that! Can't he park on the street if the drive is full? So I made Mark give me his keys.

I went to the store. Albertson's is closing so I thought I'd go there and find bargains. There were no real bargains. Their prices are high to begin with. Then the lines were long and slow. And it was hot. And I was cranky. So I got my groceries and got on home. The kid is gone now and Mark is napping. He asks if I need help. I tell him I'm mad at him for letting the kid stay so long. He gave a very defensive, un-heartfelt "I'm sorry." Then he went back to napping while I unloaded groceries in frustration. My day started out so good and has ended up so crappy and I hate that. I'm tired and cranky and I wish I had had more time with my sweet husband before the drum nerd took over his body.


Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland