2000-06-26 1:11 am

Alone at last

I must get back in some good habits. For the last ten or more days I have traveled, been with my family during my Dad's surgery, went home with Dad and Mom to make sure they were doing okay at home, came back to Austin and brought my two nephews with me and have had them here with us for almost a week. Whew. How in the world do parents manage? I'm broke and exhuasted and the house is a wreck. I love them dearly but it is so nice to be up, by myself, just doing what I want to do and not being pressured to get things together for another day entertaining and taking care of two almost-teenagers.

Tomorrow things will return to normal. I'll have a boiled egg for breakfast instead of pancakes or migas and such. I'll do my writing and spend a full day at work. I will have had a good night's sleep, I hope, and feel better all the way around.

Mark wants me to go to Kansas with him for a gig the week of July 4. I haven't checked the vacation schedule at work but I don't really want to do it. I want some more time at home. A vacation, okay, but a vacation in a car, I'd rather be on my patio.

I did one Austin-y thing today. I went to a new coffeeshop (to me) and enjoyed a big cut of latte before I went into work to catch up on the week. Just what I needed. I might have to make that a more than once-in-a-blue-moon ritual.

I tried to pay some bills tonight but gave up in frustration and confusion. I have opened a new checking account in Austin but I don't have checks for that account yet (except a few blank ones). Money will be going into the old Dallas account automatically on Friday. Too many accounts and none with any money. Bills overdue and financial aggravation. I'll play the Scarlett O'Hara and worry about it tomorrow because tomorrow is another day (of debt collectors).

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland