Saturday, Jun. 22, 2013 11:38 am

Mom heading home

Mom and I will soon get up and get ready and get going to get her home. Meanwhile, Mark is packing up to go to San Angelo for a gig with a band he's never played with, subbing for a friend who double-booked himself. I wish my trip weren't so far and I wish I could be back tonight and I wish I were 30 pounds lighter and I wish I didn't have to go to work on Monday and Kool-Aid came out of a faucet...

Yesterday we had a fun trivia contest at work. Some of the hardest questions in the world, but our team won, naturally. It lasted a lot longer than anyone expected, I think, but the boss, Queen S, did a great job of putting it together really (but, truly, some of those questions that were even in my wheelhouse were way too hard).

I also had a client come to the office yesterday and he said everything was great and that was nice to hear. I'm going to make a few tweaks to their music, but nothing major and we agreed on the most important thing of not putting TOO much of this one label's music in their program (unless it sounds really good).

I have been behind and unmotivated at work this week. I MUST MUST MUST get into some order and rhythm and have a method of finding music and working on each clients' programs, etc. I can't believe I've been doing this job for over 3 years and I still don't have a method. Or maybe I've just hit critical mass and now I can't handle it with the method I have had. Everything is due again this coming week. At least I do have the one due Monday ready to go. I should have put up some songs for approval for a couple of clients and I haven't done that. I got sidetracked.

I read How To Steal Like an Artist last night and got all inspired in my artistic endeavors again. Of course I felt like I needed to tamp them down until: mom's gone, the house is clean, I have an idea, I have time, I have money, etc. etc. Mainly I need to just WRITE every day whether there is anything to write about or not. Do the work was the main message and I am at a computer so much, I could do that. Even if I took 30 minutes here or there during the day to truly write I would feel better about things. I need to read more of the great ones, too. I ordered a book by Chet Flippo this week. He died at 69 and I'm sad about that. He got me started on this whole crazy Texas music thing and I want to study more about his style of writing. And it doesn't matter that I don't have an outlet for my writing and that I don't want to write music articles. I just want to write and need to write. If it comes back to genealogy stories or my novels or whatever, I want to be writing.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland