Friday, Jun. 22, 2007 11:19 am

Stuff from home

I think Diaryland is doing that thing again where there is an entry in here somewhere that just isn't "up" and posted. I'm 90% sure that I wrote yesterday and it isn't there. But it will miraculously appear once I post this, I hope.

Yep, I just used the "edit entry" page and it is there, but it isn't anywhere else. Weird.

I got a lot done easily at work yesterday. I love it when it happens so effortlessly. I voicetracked throughout my show and was able to bug out early and go to the going-away party for our production director. He has beaten Stage 4 cancer and is now going to start his own production company in his home. Good for him! I would love it if he would use me for some voice work in the future, now that my voice is cooperating.

Mark came home yesterday. He was able to celebrate his stepfather's birthday with them and take them to lunch. I'm glad he was able to do that. He isn't close to his mother, but, of course, we love her and her husband is a dear old man that has made her a better human being, Mark says. I didn't know her before him, of course, so I can't say.

Mark brought home a lot more stuff from my Dad's garage. We sure don't need more stuff, but he brought home parts of my great-grandparents wagon wheels that have just rotted away after 80 years in the elements. He brought home some huge map books of Texas reservoirs and dams. Stuff terrorists would love to have, I bet. I can't imagine why my dad had these books or where they came from. There were lots of things that Mark found of my grandfather's. I don't know how long Dad has had these things, maybe since Pappa died in 1974. There were his trucker's log books and insurance and his safety pins (that looks funny--- pins for being a safe driver, I should say). There was a little plaster skunk with the face of Hitler from WWII. I wonder where that came from? Some little x-rated novelties (and that term alarmed me when Mark first said it)... A keychain with the woman that undresses when you turn it upside down, a pinup in a little thing you look through, a little advertising thing with a woman's boobs in a bra. I guess not x-rated, just "racy" would be better.

Before Mark got home I tried to mow the lawn, but the mower was in the garage and I couldn't get that garage door to open and let me to it! Frustrating to be able to see it across a full set of drums on one side and other drum stuff on the other side and have a locked door on the other side keeping me away. So I didn't mow, I just trimmed and sprayed Roundup. The weeds in the front flower bed have gotten out of control and I don't quite know what I can do to inhibit them. I will work on it more tomorrow.

Tonight we are going to see Hal Ketchum. I am looking forward to a night out with Mark. And for a good show, too.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland