Thursday, Jun. 21, 2007 11:24 am

Spring ends

I love being at home so much. It makes me wonder what I could do to be able to stay home all day. Medical transcription? Writing? Begging my rich relatives for a handout? Mark's songwriting suddenly brings in a huge check? It would be so nice. I am not surprised when my mother doesn't want to go to dinner at her new place or join in the activities. I sure wouldn't do it either if I lived there. I would stay in and write journal entries and play Spider and watch TV.

I watched the movie Panic on HBO last night. It had William H. Macy and John Ritter. I need to read up on it. It was really well done. After seeing some of the actors in these short films on On The Lot, it makes me appreciate the actors in movies that never seem to be acting. There was a little boy in this movie that was a great little actor. And he had a big role. I also was interested when they showed Neve Campbell's apartment and she had a calendar from Guero's over the sink. That made me wonder about the Austin connection. I'll have to read up. Isn't it a wonderful thing that we CAN read up on the internet so easily.

My sister has been in such a blue funk for months now. Part of it has related to her job, which at one time was a lot of fun and she loved her co-workers and she really felt a part of the team. They work with hurricane victims so she has had very little work to do since Katrina's and Rita's victims were taken care of. She has taken lots of time off while Dad was sick and since she's been helping Mother get moved, but they weren't busy, so she could, although it cut her pay dramatically. She has not wanted to get started back to really working and has dreaded it and no longer likes her co-workers as much or the atmosphere as much. She's been a big believer in The Secret and visualizing what you want. Sadly, I think she has been visualizing just not having to go back to work, rather than what she really does want. And it happened. She got laid off yesterday. If a hurricane hits this week, or even next month, she'll be back at work again, but they are making some big cutbacks for now. I hope this lifts her spirits and doesn't take her further down.

Mark went to Dallas yesterday to go through Dad's garage. He debated and debated and we finally decided it would be better if he did spend some time there so we wouldn't wonder if we had missed something important. He spent a lot of filthy, sweaty time last night going through everything and found a few treasures that we will be glad we have. I told him to leave behind my grandfather's Bible (it was a mess and he wasn't much of a churchgoer anyway). He's bringing Dad's Stetson and some treasure and trinkets Daddy had amassed, including the old battery jars. He did not find the tin dancing cat. I wonder where that thing got away to? It was always in Daddy's wooden toy box, but it wasn't when he died. We thought surely it would show up somewhere, since Daddy obviously never threw away anything in his whole life.

I guess I need to get up to work. Now I remember that my plan last night was to get into work earlier today to knock out some logs so I can be out of there right about seven tonight for the going away party for our production director.

ERay told me yesterday that we are going to be making some changes to the nights on our station. More Texas. Sounds great to me except for the work I will have to do to make it happen. But I will enjoy the product and know the listeners will, too.

We had a pretty good show last night. I wasn't much into it, but Ryan T is a cutie and I always like him. The afterparty was grim since they are remodeling and tearing the place apart. Next week will be our last one there. There were some very large breasted, large women, with bleach blond hair. I didn't like them. Especially when one was slipping her name into our drawing multiple times. Why do people like to cheat like that? I see it so much that I wonder if they cheat like that on a regular basis in everything they do?

I was mad in my dreams last night. I had left my cell phone at the David Letterman show and David himself called to let me know. We were having a wonderful conversation and he was the coolest thing, but Mark was interrupting me to show me a misdirected envelope that had come in the mail or something obviously less important. He made me talk to him and David wasn't there when I got back. Sigh.

The kitty, T.C., was in the backyard under the bench again this morning. I talked to him and made him feel welcome. After a long while he jumped the fence and ambled back to the street behind us. I hope he belongs to someone, but I hope he keeps visiting.

I enjoyed the last morning of spring on the patio with the boys and a sprinkle of rain coming down. Very pleasant. Mark is having a birthday lunch with his stepfather and mother. I hope they enjoy his visit.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland