Monday, Jun. 21, 2004 12:18 am

Waco Trip for Father's Day

I did make the early morning trip to Waco yesterday and won't soon make that mistake again. I'm still wiped out. It was wonderful to hear my talented nephew play, though. He was in a jazz band with only 16 members that really did a great job, then part of a large symphonic band, too. He's incredibly talented musically and I'm glad I could see him perform. I also enjoyed visiting with his older brother, who is also musically talented, but is studying this summer for his PSAT tests instead of going to camp. The whole family was there so we celebrated Father's Day at the Elite Cafe.

I drove sleepily back to Austin and made it to my remote with time to spare. Oh, I was in cardboard home hell, though. Depressing enough to drive down all those sweet farm roads out in the countryside and see cute little farmhouses next door to dozens and dozens of nasty manufactured homes... but then to get to our remote and learn that the cardboard homes I'm going to try to help sell are also in a depressing addition lined up like dominoes in a treeless, barren square. Dismal. And these aren't cheap homes either. If you have $100,000 to spend on a house, why would you spend it here? I suppose your house would be roomier than what that amount would buy you in other places, but is it worth the psychic downer of stepping outside your front door and seeing chained dogs, waste-high weeds, and broken down cars?

It wasn't my worst remote ever because the client was cool and realizes the type people he is selling to, and my interns were two of my favorites. We were done soon enough and I came home and slept for hours, catching up on the virtually sleepless night previous.

Today I went to the wedding of a musician. He had the wedding we wanted to have! Very charming, outdoors in New Braunfels. Beautiful clothes, string Western band, cool, quick reception. It was really really nice and I wish Mark had gone with me to see it. It was hot as the dickens out there so I was glad to come home to a cool shower and another nap.

Oh, and this weekend I borrowed a friend's copy of Prize Whores and finally got to see it. It is a documentary made by an Austin disc jockey about the remote regulars that we all know. Well, four are featured and I know three of them very well because they are frequently at my remotes. Interesting movie showing the way these people live. It is really kind of sad. But, on the other hand, I was envious of the couple in the movie that does so much together! They may be prize whores, but they are prize whores together.

I have a meeting early in the morning with my new temporary boss. I'm comfortable with meeting with him, but there will be another co-worker present that may make me less comfortable and one who has not been invited to this meeting that may be unhappy to not be included. May turn out to be an interesting day.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland