Sunday, Jun. 19, 2005 11:23 pm

Father's Day catchup

So where have I been all week? Sometimes I wonder that myself. I have been trying to catch up on the sleep I missed when my sister was here. And it seems like I had early morning appointments every day that I had to jump and run to.

Yesterday was Saturday and I went to Waco so hear my younger nephew in his band camp performances. I did this last year, too. Then we all went to lunch to celebrate Father's Day. It was a good time. Last year I got up way too early to get there and then had a remote when I got back and was totally wiped out. This year I got up later, knowing he wasn't in the earliest band, and didn't have to do anything when I got back. Plus, I didn't have to work today.

I was a little perplexed at people at work. I had asked our promo director several weeks ago about this weekend. She said I could NOT be off because we had a ton of remotes. Well, as of Tuesday, no one had mentioned remotes or where they would need me this week. I emailed her and asked what remotes I had or could I be off. She replies, rather curtly, that she can get them covered, I can leave if I want to. It was a kind of weird response. So I ask the guy that schedules things (because he had said he wanted to be off) and he said that he did want to be off and hoped I could work Saturday afternoon. I said I would, but I'd rather not, and that obviously if I had been doing these two remotes he would have had to have someone else on the air instead of me, so couldn't he just get that person to do it? He managed to do it and to have me off on Sunday, too. He didn't go out of town either. I knew he wouldn't. He always has these plans and then blames his responsibilities for keeping him in town. It wasn't his responsibilities that kept him in town, it was his paranoia.

My voice has continued to be "warbley" this week, but the pitch is coming down. I continue to have rude callers telling me I shouldn't be on the air and others that are more concerned, but still weird. One lady called to ask if I didn't need to be resting my voice and wouldn't let me get a word in edgewise to tell her I was fine.

Today I worked on the yard and sweated and sweated. Too hot out there. I attempted to hand this decorative wind chime thing we got, but couldn't make it work. Frustrates me when I don't have the know how (or stick-to-it-ivness) to make something work.

I had a meeting with my boss Friday. He irritated me quite a bit. He hasn't asked about my voice treatment at all in the two weeks since I did it. He hasn't talked to me at all. Then he starts giving me advice yesterday about how to "relax" on the air and get the tension out of my throat. I just wanted to yell at him and say "And how many people have you known that have HAD spasmodic dysphonia?" It is not a matter of RELAXING. My throat will NOT relax. I just accepted it with a smile while I wanted to jump across the desk and say "TENSION? You want to feel tension in your throat?" with my thumbs against his Adam's apple.

He DID, on the other hand, tell me about my good ratings in this last book. Of course, he still manages to make it all NOT about me.

Sad news today about my cousin's cancer. She's been having chemo for 9 months now and a report on Friday said that it isn't working somehow. I don't know the details, but her cancer cells aren't hooking up to the chemo like they are supposed to. Her whole family there is devastated as are we. My frustrations with my little disorder are so minimal compared to something of the magnitude she is dealing with, but I know how frustrated she must be to be doing everything you are supposed to do and are told to do and it is doing nothing, apparently.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland