Saturday, Jun. 19, 2004 12:15 am

Happy Juneteenth

I'm going to be up and out of bed in a mere 5 hours and on my way to Waco. Yep, that's an exciting way to spend a Saturday. My nephew is at band camp and he has a concert in the morning at 9 a.m. I don't know why I thought it would be fun to drive up and hear the concert and see the family. I'm meeting them at 8 a.m. at McDonald's. I'm going to be a zombie before the day is over. I have to rush back, leaving there by noon to get back for a remote in the afternoon south of town here.

A slight release from some of my anxiety yesterday. The GM of the station appointed one of the other station PDs as our temp PD. That's a big relief to me to have someone in control, and this someone is someone I like very much and have a good feeling about. He and I had a heart-to-heart talk and he could feel my stress and told me not to worry. I do feel better. Maybe it is the drugs, too.

I feel a little more isolated at work, though. Cotton seemed very dismayed that this new temporary fix is in. He had campaigned to be the solution or at least the temporary fix so he is unhappy that he was not chosen and that this man (with little awareness of our format) was put in charge. I couldn't very well say how happy I was that he was in charge so I am just closing in and keeping to myself more.

I saw my good chiropractor today and that felt good. He really has a healing touch. And I had lunch with my co-worker from the old job. She is so fun to be around. Being at the hospital makes me miss being in the medical field. I almost feel a calling there. Maybe I'll be a candy striper when I retire.

Last night we went to the Rodney Crowell show at the Paramount Theater. What a great performance. He stuck mostly to his new stuff and didn't sing any of his number one songs, but it was amazing. I didn't care what he sang, I liked it all. We had great opera seats. The sound isn't the best there, but the view was incredible. I enjoyed having Mark there, but I wish he would treat these nights out a little more like a date. It wasn't as if it was really a chore and he did love the music, but it's a drag to rush right home to the comfortable spot in front of the TV or computer.

I hate to end on a bitchy note, so let me say Mark did lots of laundry today and that was a relief to come home to. I would have had to have dug through piles for the least stinky dirty clothes for tomorrow if he had not done that.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland