Saturday, Jun. 18, 2011 10:22 am

High Blood Pressure Worries

A weekend. Hooray.

I've been sick again. I have been more sick in the last year than I ever have in my life, I think. This is high blood pressure and swollen ankles.

Last week my sister and I went to South Padre to join my aunts and mom and some cousins for some beach fun. We didn't get nearly enough time with them... I didn't know until it was too late that they were leaving on Friday, not Saturday. We got down there Thursday night.

But on Friday, after the aunts were gone, we laid in the sun way too long and I got badly burned. On Saturday we drove home and with all the sitting in the car, my feet were super swollen. I tried taking some PMS drugs with diuretics in them, but they stayed swollen. Days go by and they are not better and my blood pressure was very very high, so I went to the doctor yesterday. He prescribed a diuretic and I'll go see him in a month. I took one when I got home yesterday and I do have ankles this morning (though I usually did in the morning). We'll have to see what happens later today and I'll take my blood pressure again tonight. At the doctor's office it was like 170/110. Crazy high. I ended up not even working yesterday with doctor visits. His took a couple of hours and they took blood, etc., and then he also sent me to a place to have an ultrasound of my legs to make sure there were no clots. There weren't. That was good and I didn't expect that there would be, really.

Today I want to spend some time on genealogy. The reunion is just 7 weeks away and I want to get as many corrections into the book as I can.

I also want to ponder and study the idea of being a "digital strategist." That idea was suggested to me by my promoter friend as a means to more income. I haven't even written in here that I've lost my radio gig and that sort of bums me out. It is a pain and a long drive and boring and slow paying, but it is $700 a month that we have happily used. It will end June 30. He might rehire me in the fall, but I would be thrilled if I had something else to replace it that made even more money and I didn't need to even consider it again.

I also would like to put back into the house correctly the things I stuffed away when the maid was coming this week. I have a new system for stuffing away bills and such and when I went to stuff them this week, it was already stuffed. So much for my system.

Oh, one more thing since last writing... Just as I was leaving on vacation, my boss called to tell me that an older co-worker had died. I'm so sad. He was a super sweet, helpful, dear man. He had fallen by my desk last year and we got to be friends at that point. He was only 64 and it was totally unexpected.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland