Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009 6:17 pm

Putting off work

I am procrastinating. Several reports to type and then I should do a couple of playlists just to make the money from them. Then I want to do some genealogy tonight, too.

I did go out and do some enjoyable things today. I bought 2 new pairs of pajamas at Target and possible a third pair that is really shorts and a t-shirt but may only be suitable for around the house. Then I ate at a deli in Manchaca that was very pleasant and then I went to the garden store down there. I like it better than Lowe's or Home Depot's garden departments because they have so many things just growing wild in their greenhouses. I want more things just growing wild around my house and garden. I got several things and came straight home and planted plumbago and bird of paradise. Hung 2 hanging baskets and now I just need to plant 2 cacti/succulents.

I haven't written about Thursday night. We got shut down at the Grove for sound. The jerk that lives behind Flipnotics that complains all the time knew that there is no permit (it is in the process) and came over there, called the police, and demanded that it be stopped. What has hung with me and bothered me most is that Jennifer got on stage and made the announcement. I was still on the curb with the managers, deciding what to do, and I told Chris that he needed to make the announcement because I didn't think the dj was capable of this kind of announcement. Then, I hear someone on the mic and go around the corner and Jenn is up there talking about "the douchebag" that did this and she is mad. I ordered her off the stage. She insists that "someone" told her to do it and got all defensive. Chris and Shannon both say they didn't tell her to do it (and why would they?). She was mad and angry and I was mad and angry and I'm a terrible people person, I really am. I wish Rusty had been there.

As it all turned out, it was a good thing. If Jimmy had played, we would have probably stopped him in about 30 minutes anyway because of the approaching storm and we, and the equipment, would have all gotten soaked. Because, as it was, since we started packing up then and there, we just barely got it all put away and the people gone by the time the rain hit hard.

Jenn gets on my nerves a lot. I like her immensely so I try to examine why I also dislike her (that shadow thing has to be at play). One thing is how she talks about her weight. Am I afraid of how people perceive me and my weight? Damn right I am. We order chips and queso and she ordered Frito pie and then she looks kind of panicked and says, "But I'm going to have a salad." I could care less if she ate a chicken fried steak with chocolate sauce. She said something, too, about pictures or video her sister had of her when she weighed a lot more and she got kind of defensive saying, "I've lost a lot of that weight!" Again, I don't care. I think she could dress much more attractively for the weight she does carry, but I could take a lesson there myself.

I am so tired of people showing me pictures on their phones, too. TOO damn small to see them and I just really don't care to see them.

We slept really late this morning. Nathan Jr. was pulling out all the stops trying to wake us up, knocking Mark's glasses off the dresser, walking on top of us, pawing at my book dustjacket. He's funny. At least he didn't puke.

I did see M&M this week. Thursday I was talking with her about the shut down at the Grove, of course. She had been sick in bed for a couple of days. She actually may have gone to Dallas on Tuesday, but I don't think I heard that from her, only in emails. I wonder if she went up there to get her new BMW? The place here only had gray and blue and she ended up with a white one. She had me "print" some stuff for her Thursday night. It was rather irritating because she said she couldn't' get her printer to print and needed me to print these things for her to take to a meeting in San Antonio on Friday. Okay, fine I'll print them. But then, she sends some pages that are just printing, but also a list of a few artists so what she really wanted was their bios or something from their websites. Then she discovered the thumbnails I did last year and said, Can I have this? So I spent 3 hours writing and compiling this list of bios. Saving grace, she didn't balk when I asked for pay. I sent her an invoice for the 2 weeks and she brought her checkbook when she came by in her new BMW on Friday. But then she asked if we had a Bramhall CD and I went to look for one and pulled it out and she said, No, that's II, we've booked I. What? The bio I wrote was for II. I didn't know she had booked I. She was already flaking out on the meeting in San Antonio and I think that sealed it. An hour before she is supposed to be there and she calls and cancels. I see in emails that this is the week she goes to Savannah with Tonio... so Paris in December, a cruise/Mexico in January, New York in February, Florida in March, London in May, and now Savannah in Georgia. And a new BMW. And her business seems to be hurting, I don't know. I'm just glad I'm getting more and more uninvolved. (again, shadow questions, why does this bother me?)

Okay, 'm going back to typing because I really do want to get to genealogy tonight. I'm on the trail of Sarah Medlin Hallford.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland