Tuesday, Jun. 13, 2006 11:44 am

Meeting Sarah

I got so much accomplished early yesterday that I got to work ahead of schedule. I took my laptop back to the IT guy to get some help from him uninstalling a program that was giving me trouble. I ended up sitting down and watching him and and requesting some more changes, etc. Finally I went back to my desk to really begin my day... and realized I had missed an important conference call. Augh. Get to work early and then fuck up. That made me mad at myself. So, it has been rescheduled for Friday. REMEMBER!!

So, instead of being early and getting a lot accomplished, I ended up being behind all day long. I was running back and forth to the office trying to get some stuff done in there while I was on the air. I recorded commercials while I was on the air. I ran a contest in Virginia while I was on the air in Austin (and I had to put the guy on hold while I did a break... I wonder if you can hear our station on hold? He probably wondered what the hell was going on.). Then, to really top off my day, I didn't finish everything and I just left!

I ran up to the B&N way up north for Sarah Bird's book signing. And I really really lucked out. I got there about 20 minutes after it started. I heard clapping as I walked in so I assume she had just spoken a bit. There was a big crowd seated in chairs and people ringing the chairs and people standing upstairs looking down. I took a place at the back of the crowd. Two women were on a table demonstrating the art of flamenco dancing, the subject of the book. I was bored already. I just wanted my book and to meet Sarah. Then, miracle of miracles, she comes around to the back of the crowd where I was and sits down at the signing table and starts autographing! There was no line. One man was there first, but I grabbed two books and I was next. She remembered me and was very nice and autographed my book and the one to my sister she wrote: Your adorable sister and I hope you enjoy this book. I was able to get back out the door and head for home. I would have been there easily another hour and a half if I had had to wait for the flamenco dancers and the line!

So, I got to start the book last night and I love it already. I haven't read a good book in ages. It is such a relief to have one to look forward to!

I would like to get to work early today and get a head start, but I'd better step on it if I am because I'm already running late. I hope there is no time crunch today, but one always seems to develop so I'd better dash.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland