Monday, Jun. 13, 2005 10:54 am

A New Week Begins

Monday Morning. Yawn.

My sister is coming to town today to spend one night. Her oldest is at A&M for a pre-college visit. She's going to go with me to the eastside club and hear Mark and the band play. That should be a cultural experience for her.

I ended up not going to the benefit thing yesterday. It was just too darn hot and I was ready to be home. I came home and got even hotter by mowing lawn and trimming garden. It looks good for company now.

I was aggravated at Mark yesterday evening but there was no way to put it into words to him. He had told me way back that friends of his wanted to have us over for dinner sometime. Okay, sounds good. Last week he gives me the word on Friday or so that the dinner will be Sunday. Eeee, that's cutting close to plans I've already made, but I'll adjust. I know Mark would have happily gone alone and let me do my own thing, but I want to do stuff with him and he so rarely lets me. So I adjusted. Sunday gets here and I do what I did (and part of it was because we had these plans). I knock off the mowing and get my shower and cool off so I can be ready for the dinner. About an hour before dinner time he decides that he will be too pressed for time to go to the dinner. He has a gig later in the evening and it is looking like the dinner will start late and the gig will start early, so he's getting nervous about it. I understand. So he calls to cancel dinner for us. Of course, they insist that he MUST come by for a cocktail and to graze a bit before his gig. Well, that leaves me sort of "out." I can go with him and then feel obligated to stay with six strangers and have dinner, or awkwardly leave when he leaves, even though I would be going home, not to the gig. So, I let him go alone. I haven't heard how that turned out for him. I know he didn't plan it this way or intend for it to go this way, and, being the loner, I'm just as happy I didn't have to go, I just wish it hadn't been all up in the air until the last minute. I know, I know, I can't be made happy. If we had gone, I probably would have come home mad about something that happened there.

sigh

So, this week is a hot week, maybe a busy week? I don't know. Sister here tonight, cafe she Wednesday night, Father's Day on the way that will be my responsibility, and step-father-in-law's birthday next week, too. I will do my best not to let this week get crazy on me. Hope the voice cooperates and I can not worry about it.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland