Sunday, Jun. 12, 2022 11:09 am

Heating up

I just sat down to a (pretty) clean desk and it is a joy! Why can't I keep this up? I like a clean desk where I can work. ... this is the genealogy desk. Yesterday and the day before I cleaned out the drawers and relined them and threw away some crap (could throw more, I'm sure). If I could get to more drawers and stacks and work with a little more speed, I might have a clean(er) house by Christmas (2024).

Beth and Mike did come back through after Austin and spent a night. We had game night at my sister's and that was fun. They were fun. Even him. Beth had said they could maybe stay a couple of nights, but I could be honest and tell them to leave earlier. I was honest and said, yes, one night was enough. We laughed about how friends -- great friends -- can be honest. I was having to work and wasn't as prepared for this visit so I'm glad they went ahead and left. They were good company and took care of themselves. She even had oatmeal with her and ate it for breakfast.

I looked at my water bill yesterday and the last one was twice what all the previous ones had been. I had been using and experimenting with the sprinkler system. I think I will scale that back a lot and let the yard get dryer.

I just ordered some groceries from Braum's to pick up this afternoon. I'm going to visit Mom and take her some cookies and ice cream. I might take my cooler with me and keep the stuff for me on ice while I visit her. It is going to be 102 or more and no telling how hot that makes a car in the sun. Yikes.

I should get some thermal drapes for the front window. I'll add that to my never-ending wish list. It might be helpful on these super super hot days to keep the AC in and the heat out.

This week the Jan. 6 committee had primetime hearings and presented evidence from their investigations. It was fascinating to see what they've compiled and know that there will be more in the coming days. I hope it results in something --- a change of heart in the country, or just arrests for many of the conspirators at the top. I don't know what might come, but I'll be watching.

I'm going to heat up some coffee from yesterday and sit a while. It is a nice quiet Sunday morning and no need to get all busy too soon.

Before || After
Older Entries
Reunion Time - Thursday, Aug. 11, 2022
Hot and Unmotivated - Saturday, Jul. 23, 2022
We're Down - Wednesday, Jul. 13, 2022
Back Home - Monday, Jun. 20, 2022
Off to Tyler - Saturday, Jun. 18, 2022
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland