Monday, Jun. 12, 2006 11:29 am

Swimmer

It was a really good weekend. Pretty low stress, I got some things done, and I got out of the house a little, too. Hooray for me.

I had a taco at Maudie's with my accordion teacher on Saturday. It is good to have a short time available sometimes. It made us catch up fast and then know that I had an out. I went from there out to the boat store and had a good remote with some good new kids. Then I even got a good haircut before I came back to town.

The new restaurant Houlihan's is very nice. I liked its rooftop bar, but the service was atrocious. The bartender downstairs is Mark's approved girl-friend and I went down and visited with her a while, too. She's so nice. Her boss told Mark that when he was interviewing for staff he asked each of them at the end of the interview if they had any questions. Most asked about vacations or days off or menial things like that. She asked "If you could be a dog, what kind of a dog would you be?" She's creative and cool like that.

I should have gone on home when that gig was over, but Double M and her friend, let's call her Frenchie, were going to Antone's to see Maceo Parker. They encouraged me to come along. The place was packed, but because of Frenchie's connections, we had a table saved for us in a little out of the way place. Nice! He and the band were fabulous, but I learned that a funk band likes to stay on the "one" way too long for my taste. Move on to the four! Resolve that chord! I got pretty tired before the night ended. We actually left before he came back for an encore. It was good and I'm glad I went, but I sure spent a lot more money Saturday than I intended to.

Yesterday I slept really late again and then we went to eat at a Chinese buffett. Then we went to a coupe of cactus and plant stores in South Austin that I'd been eyeing. We got a cactus and a sedum and a plumbago (oh, my plumbago has been acting up again). Came home and tried to nap a bit, then watered the lawns, cleaned my office (not nearly enough of course), cooked hamburgers on the grill while Mark watched the first episode of Deadwood (I just can't get into that show). Watched Entourage and a new show on HBO but wasn't blown away by it yet. Stayed up really late playing accordion and doing stuff in here in my office. Nothing substantial, that's for sure, but stuff nonetheless.

Today I was a brave girl and I went over to the swimming pool! I've wanted to try it for seven years and every year August rolls around and it closes and I haven't. So at least this year I have. I got intimidated, though, and left, when a lifeguard said, "Ma'am, are you swimming laps?" Well, I don't know! I was trying, but I was stopping every five feet to catch my breath. Does that count? If I'm just standing in the water, can I stay? I talked to him a bit and understood that I needed to have a lifeguard in that part of the pool to do whatever it was that I wanted to do. Okay, I get it. I will try to come back sometime. Mostly it was just little kids taking lessons and Moms sitting around under the shade trees. Very very quiet. If I could just get in the habit of walking to the pool, swimming a few laps, and walking home, imagine how thin and tanned I would be in a short time! Ah, I can dream.

My favorite author is signing books tonight so I am going to try to go up north for that before I go out to the east side.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland