July 09, 2003 9:56 am

Waiting for the BOOM

When a supersonic plane flies through the air, the air in front of it is pushed along more and more rapidly and bunches up in front of the plane until finally it is under so much pressure and it can't bunch up anymore and it "tears". . .and we hear the sonic boom. Maybe kids today don't even know what a sonic boom is. When I grew up there were no laws against planes going that fast and sonic booms were everyday occurrences out in the country where we lived. Sometimes they shook the glass on the windows and were louder than any thunder, but we just took them in stride.

This week (getting back to my analogy), I feel like that air in front of the plane. I have had so much going on, so much overload of information and input, so much to do and so far to go, that any minute that tear is going to happen and a personal sonic boom will occur.

I didn't start this diary to be like my other one and put things like "Willie's picnic... had fun." I want to describe things and remember the details. But there's been so much in the last ten days and I am late already for work this morning, that will have to suffice.

Great show with Jack Ingram at the cafe last week. Enjoyed a lot of time with CGP there. Mark had a high high fever for five days and was sicker than I've ever seen him. I felt guilty for not being home to nurse him. Worked as late as I could on Thursday to get ready for the days off, but Mark called and needed me at home so I had to leave some undone, figuring I could come in on vacation days and finish it. ha Willie picnic was muddy and cool and fun to broadcast from. Interviewed Bill Mack and Ray Price and Pat Green and many more. Came straight home from the picnic (missing Pat, Toby, Willie) to take care of Mark. Mark too sick to go to my Amarillo family reunion so I drove to Dallas and rode up with my sister and her family. Great reunion Saturday night and Sunday. Ready to leave Amarillo and I find that B!'s mom had died Saturday. Change my plan and stay in Amarillo for the funeral. Mark is feeling better so he flies to Dallas and gets his truck there and drives to Amarillo. What a sweetheart! He goes to the funeral and drives me back to Austin. My two days of recovery and vacation become two days of grieving, stress, and travel. I asked off for one more day for recovery, but the boss "appreciates me on the air" so I give up that hope and I'm off to work for a long full day today. Meet a client, lots of work, on the air, cafe tonight.

That is less than the Reader's Digest version, but maybe I can come back sometime and flesh in some details. Hope I get to it before the sonic boom hits.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland