Monday, Jul. 05, 2004 4:16 pm

Long hard weekend

I'm home from my long weekend and many miles on the road. My family loves a good funeral and we had a good one. My uncle's five handsome grandsons and grandsons-in-law were his pallbearers. One grandson spoke from the podium and gave a fitting and humorous eulogy of his Pappa. We all cried and hugged and ate and cried some more. And we laughed a lot, too. I am envious of their family's closeness. My family is close, but theirs is tight beyond tight.

My own poor dad wasn't doing well when I got them back to their house Saturday night. He was staggering and his blood pressure was high. If he doesn't improve, we'll have to take him back to the neurologist. It was frightening, although I know he had just had an exhausting trip and an emotionally draining trip, too.

I spent a night at their house and then came down to Dallas to my sister's and had Fourth of July with her family. We mainly sat on the roof and watched fireworks. It was fun.

Today a long hot drive back to Austin and I barely missed getting stuck, probably for an hour or more, in a bad accident. I hit the backup just as they were forcing you to exit the freeway and I crossed to the opposite service road, sped on down and crossed back before the bulk of the traffic caught up with me.

I got home, ready to go to nappie's house and found no cat food, no clothes soap, no human food, no dog food... in other words, I had to go to the grocery store. A madhouse. I'm home now, clothes are washing away and I think I finally can make that journey I love to nappie's house free and clear.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland