Wednesday, Jul. 04, 2007 12:26 pm

Boys Visit

I am stupid mad at my stupid self this morning. I went and looked at my bank account and I've been overdrawn since yesterday. I could have prevented it all if I had just looked at it yesterday or Monday. Why do I do that? Errrr. I am mad at myself. And now I'm mad that I haven't replaced my driver's license because that will make me have to send Mark to get some money out of the other bank. Errrrr. My procrastination hurts me on all fronts.

Otherwise. Ol' Cotton is moving to New Orleans and I'm glad. Even at another station in town he causes me trouble. Last night he calls at 11:30 or so to say that our station is off the air. Now, if he hadn't called me, what would happen? Someone at the station would notice (eventually) and call and engineer and they would eventually get us back on the air. Since he called me what will happen? Well, as it turns out, I let nature take its course, but, of course, that leaves me with some guilt feelings that I have to keep rejustifying. I don't believe it has ever been in my job description that I need to check on the station when I'm not there.

My friend M&M's dad died Monday night and that is mostly what is on my mind. I went to her house last night and visited with her and some of her friends. I knew one woman that I used to work with, but they were mostly strangers. Very powerful, rich strangers. Interesting. She does circulate with a totally different class of people than I do, yet she includes me. She is off to his services and everything today and her old boyfriend is going with her and I'm glad for that. Poor thing. I know how tough this week can be, but I had a husband and sister and mother and nephews and so much more support than she does. I guess we all have to go about it our own way.

My nephews were here on Monday night and we had the best time. They are just so funny and so fun to be with. They are constantly cracking us up. I took them to Rounder's for dinner and out to the east side. They liked it a lot and were very impressed with the band, even though it was a throw-together band and not the normal one. That may have been what impressed them... how musicians can just play songs together that they've never rehearsed or even played.

They and Mark stayed up super late Monday night. I had to go on to bed at 3. Tuesday morning they thought they needed to get on the road so one could go to work, but he called in and said he couldn't make it and they stayed a little longer. I cooked omelettes and we had a very pleasant morning talking and showing YouTube clips and laughing.

Once the boys left, my young intern friend came over and I helped him download some photos from his trip to Greece. I wasn't able to burn them to a CD for him (my computer has issues), but I at least got them onto a website so he can show them to other people. He's back to the rig now, so he can't be messing with it much for two weeks anyway. He may have met a new woman on his trip, but she is 42 and he is 25, so that will be interesting.

I got to work very late yesterday because of the visits. I multi-tasked as hard as I could through my show. I stayed two hours late, too, and finally got enough done that I don't have to go to work today, though I am still going to worry about things. I need a real vacation one of these days. Really, really, I do.

Mark has a gig tonight, so I don't know where this holiday will go except down that path of just eating and being separate. Shoot. I wish I knew someone having a barbeque this evening. No, really I don't, I'd rather be alone. Really.

He just came in and we discussed the diet. It is giving him a lot of energy, he says, which has its downside in that he does work long hours and then stays up all night (he was up til 5 this morning). That can also be an upside I suppose. I haven't gotten that much extra energy from it. I am better at work, but I still slept 10 hours last night and enjoyed every minute of it (well, until he came to bed at 5 a.m. and woke me up!).

My sister gave the boys a hard time for their trip, I understand. She was mad at the older nephew for cancelling work when she thinks he needs to be there making money (which maybe she has a point) and he had a dentist appointment that she didn't know about because he made it and he missed it. I think she just was lonely that they came without her and she knew they would have more fun without her.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland