Monday, Jul. 29, 2013 8:38 am

The Big Fall

What a week.

First, diet-wise, I got the pills and I just took the first ones. A delay in picking them up started me late. I'm already down to 4.8+HGW to that's a lot better than it was last Monday. A better starting point, though THOSE first pounds have got to go first and fast. I hope they do.

Already I don't know if I am irritable or if Mark is. I'm betting on him. I just took the pills so surely it isn't me yet. He got woke up too early by the construction crew working on the garage so he is snippy. He was super snippy last night coming home from a gig. He went to the bathroom right here by my office and then I hear a big door slam and then another and I start asking if he is alright and go to check on him. He was mad because the toilet was stopped up. Except that I don't think it was, but I didn't dare ask again. So I am steering clear of him today and until I'm sure the drugs aren't making me worse.

I haven't written since THE BIG FALL. Wow. That was an experience I do NOT want to relive. Thursday night I cleaned the kitchen really well. Mark was at the lab working. I had a sack of trash and two boxes to put into recycling and I was taking it to the garage. My last superbad fall was with both hands full. I guess I need to quit doing anything with both hands full. I went out to the garage and the carpet was bunched up just a little from construction. The floor was clean and open, there was no construction stuff going on. But I hit that bump in the carpet and flew forward. I tried to stop the fall and got my feet under me about 3 big steps, but I was parallel with the floor when the garage door decidedly stopped the fall with a bang. I knew it was happening and wishing I could stop it, but there was no way. I hit the garage and, of course, ended up sitting on the floor, stunned, but conscious. Before I could even reach up and touch my head there was blood splashing around me and down my pajama top. I reached up then to see if my head was split wide open. It didn't appear to be, but lots and lots of blood.

I still hated to call Mark because he was on a project he needed to finish and I wasn't sure how bad this cut was. I had to hunt for my phone and I was panicking and holding a washrag to my head and got Katie on the line after 2 calls and asked her to come help me. She rushed right over and by then the washrag was full of blood and I was getting more alarmed, so she calmed me down and said she would take me to the emergency clinic. She ran home to change and grab her keys and I got dressed, dripping blood on everything I put on.

She got me up there and I called Mark on the way, but he didn't answer. He called me back just as we parked so I told him, calmly, what had happened and assured him we didn't need him to rush up there, but he did, of course. They got me into a room pretty quickly and cleaned up my head. My blood pressure was 176 over 95. Yikes. Mark later said he could see my blood spurting from the wound. The young cute doctor came in and sewed me up with four stitches of fishing line. There's about a one-inch scar, but it is up in my hair.

I came home and took a shower and rinsed my hair and blood, but didn't really wash it until the next day. It hadn't been washed in about a week and was pretty gross.

Mark went to Navasota Saturday and I had planned on going with him, but I opted to stay home. I'm glad, too. I was kind of nauseous and feeling lousy. I ran some errands and I thought I was going to have to come home and lay down. I did get groceries and brought them home, put them in the fridge, and then slept for several hours. It knocked a lot out of me, no doubt.

Now my head itches and I can't scratch it. There are other sorer spots on the head than the cut, too. And they gave me a tetanus and that shoulder and arm are super sore. The whole body is moderately sore.

And my best news of the weekend is that I am back on the radio again in G-ville. My friend found another salesperson to take the place of the nice young man that was selling and we are back in business. Today was/is my first day.

I worked from home Friday because of construction workers. It was nice to be home because of the fall. I didn't get a lot accomplished.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland