Monday, Jul. 25, 2011 8:27 am

Short trip

I was glad to see I wrote last week. I need to write here more often. I need to understand the mailed entry procedure and write emails to this from time to time to get things out of my system.

I ended up not going to the Swan last week and doubt if I go tonight either. After a very full weekend, I expect I'll be happy to be home tonight.

We went to Concan for the weekend for Mark to play a gig. It all went very well. We enjoyed sitting in the Frio, driving through that beautiful countryside, and eating. I spent a lot of time napping and reading, too, while Mark was setting up and I had no internet, cell phone, TV, or radio. I probably SHOULD have taken my computer and done some genealogy corrections, though they would be hard to do without being able to look up other facts that I get distracted to.

The weirdest thing that happened was the last thing yesterday. Mark had said he wanted to retrace our steps and go back to a cemetery of my g-g-g-grandfather that we visited 10 years ago. It is on private property so it isn't easy to find or get to. I had said that would be great because I wanted more pics of it, too. Yesterday on the way home he brought it up again and asked if I could find it. I said that I knew I could. We did find it and had to shimmy under a gate to get in. Then we walked all over half of Hays County looking for the dang thing. I KNOW it wasn't that hard to find last time! We finally did find it (and had walked so much further than necessary) and found it in much worse condition than before. So very sad. We took a lot of pictures and discussed the Hallford family. I pondered again where HER grave is and thought about the possibilities. Then -- we go to Sonic and I check email and read one from findagrave that I had not looked at earlier in the day when I saw it. In it, a woman was replying from this grave memorial and thanking me for it and wondering where his wife is buried! Weird that that all happened at the same time. So I will have to do some more research and see what I can come up with on her last years if I can.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland