Monday, Jul. 23, 2007 9:53 am

Vacation approaching

I am beginning (beginning?) to feel the pressure of my vacation coming up. So much to get done at work in order to go and I want to go to music all three nights I am here this week. I did finally get the log software onto this computer, so I swear I will get some logs done this morning.

We had a good weekend in Dallas. I had a remote Saturday before we could go and Mark worked. I was going to go see the new baby, but when I was on her street and looking for her house, I called and she was at lunch and told me to come later. Well, I had a remote later, so that screwed up my plans for the day. I went on and got a haircut and bought my brother-in-law some Border's cards and killed time until the remote. The remote was kind of iffy because they seem to be mad at us for some reason. Their ad agency guy is filling with them with misconceptions and demanding more stuff from us. My poor salesman was placating their owner and trying to smooth it out, I could tell. I make a ton of money from them each year and I appreciate them a LOT. I hope it doesn't end. They've worked with us for years, so I don't think it will end. I hope not.

Came home and got ready pretty quickly, but Mark was slow slow slow and we finally left about 7:45 or so. Got to my sister's and visited. Nephew #2 had his wisdom teeth taken out this week and he was still puffy faced and not feeling great. Nephew #1 came home from work feeling lousy.

Yesterday we took the whole family to brunch to celebrate my sister and brother-in-law's birthdays. It was fun. The waitress was inexperienced (she didn't know you could order "espresso" by itself) and we didn't get some of the things that were promised, but it was good. We bought, which was fun. We went back to their house and visited a minute or two more before taking my Mom home and heading on to our next party.

The next party was for Mark's grandfather's sister-in-law, Mark's aunt, who turned 90. She is a sweet lady that we don't see very often. We used to see her at reunions and functions, but not since we moved to Austin. I had no idea how much family she had. Three children and lots of grands and greats and beyond. Most of our little branch was there, too, and they kept telling me how good I looked. Since they last saw me at Dad's funeral about 15 pounds ago, I guess I did look better.

Also got to see my old radio buddy Jeff who married Mark's young cousin. 16 years younger than him! Wow! He was always so exuberant and fun to talk to. He still was. Big roly-poly jolly fellow. Still works at the same place, too! I started there in 93, so he has been there at least that long with maybe one gap in the middle someplace. I'm sure he makes good money, but he has to be at work at 4 in the morning or something insane.

We left the party and headed out in pouring rain, but it stopped pretty quickly. Got home by 9 or so and Mark went on out to see Quiet Riot. I was feeling queasy, so I just took it easy and fooled around with software. Got the log software on this computer and got the genealogy software on it too. That was a challenge. I put new Beta software and it didn't import all of my data. It scared me because I was afraid my data was screwed up, but it wasn't. It imported fine when I loaded the old program, which works fine.

Not only is the impending vacation freaking me out with work worry, I'm also looking at this reunion rapidly approaching and my nephew's quilt that needs to be finished ASAP. But all is good. Breathe breathe. I am happy and healthy and there is no need to worry.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland