Friday, Jul. 02, 2004 1:31 am

Funeral time

What a week. What a day.

As predicted, I'm packing tonight for a funeral. My dear Uncle Homer died this morning. I am glad he's out of his misery and nightmare he was living in and glad the family is freed from their worries, but it is sad to lose such a sweet man. I was his favorite niece (although my sister might argue) and he was my favorite uncle. I'm on the road tomorrow to the funeral Saturday. I'll drive by and get my parents and sister. I was in Amarillo last year on July 4th and was with their whole family and then ended up going to B!'s mother's funeral there. It's strange to spend another holiday weekend up there at another funeral. Especially sad because it is my Aunt's birthday and the Fourth has always been a big holiday for our two families to celebrate and enjoy her birthday, too.

My emotions were raw today, but no problem going to work, I thought. But I tried to talk to my boss and just bawled and bawled. It seems very likely that the boss that will be hired is the evil boss referred to on these pages back after 9/11 until he fired me in January. The big boss assures me that my job is secure and I'm an important part of the station... and I don't doubt that. I just don't want to work for an asshole again. Not one bit. Apparently I have already been discussed in their negotiations and he told the boss all the things he wanted to hear about me... HE has no ill will toward me at all. Sure he doesn't. But I sure hold a huge grudge against him. How can I not? I fully acknowledge that I was lousy at the job he fired me from, BUT I turned it down three times when he offered it to me explaining that I didn't know how to do that job, then reluctantly accepted it and asked for lots of help to learn the job and received NONE and then was fired from not only that job, but the other jobs I did there. If he had had any sense he could have kept me on in a part-time position in the one job that I am good at: On the air.

God, I don't want to work for this man again.

I'd better get a bag packed. I came home late, talked on the phone with many sympathetic people and then took a late late night nap.

.... I hope I get back to my three interesting stories of the week: 1) DD got mugged 2) Cotton is an idiot and 3) sex in the bathroom ...

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland