2000-07-02 12:47 pm

Cool city we live in

Maybe I have just found the perfect city to live in for the interests I have. Maybe if you were enamored of, say, lobster fishermen, you'd find yourself happiest on a coastal town in Maine where you'd run into famous lobster fishermen on a regular basis. Thank God I've found Austin. Yesterday we went to the Tower Records on Guadalupe and had a conversation with Jimmy Vaughn. He was just in there shopping like a normal person. He is very very handsome in person. Much better looking that CD covers make him look and much younger than I expected him to look. This town is just way to cool.

Only things not cool are the weather and my poor car. It remains incapacitated in front of the house. We did get it home from the police station without having to have it towed but it was overheating in minutes. To the shop this week (I don't even know if they are open tomorrow on July 3 or not). It will work out because Mark will be in Kansas and Dallas and I will have his Navajo.

Went to a pretty uninteresting party last night. I tell you, if these fourth of July parties I'm attending this weekend don't start getting markedly better I am going to have to give one of my own and show these people how it is done!!!! A friend turned thirty so I went to help celebrate but there were too many disparate groups attending. Friends of his from college, friends of his from here, those of us from work. I'm sure he enjoyed the group but there was no one for me to relate to except the few of us from work. Of course, this party was a big step above the night before's party where I didn't even stay for one drink, but not too much. The highlight of the night was watching a guy from out of town flirting unabashedly with a female gay friend. She's happily attached and her "attachee" was also sitting there watching all of this with delight. I wish I could have been there later when I'm sure he asked the honoree about her. Said honoree will never let the poor fellow hear the end of wasting his time. Reminds me of my favorite joke with the punchline, "Hey, baby, how's Beirut?"

Oh, a quick cool experience last night. Not with a celebrity but a small world story. On the elevator at my office parking garage late last night and meet a young guy from Holland doing an internship in Austin. I tell him that my brother-in-law is from Holland and tell him where his family lives. That is the hometown of this boy! He said he has been in town a week and has already met two people that know people in his hometown.

I'm off to Loew's today to get me out of the house and get some plants. I look so forward to the days off when I can finally do what I want to do and then when they get here I find myself at loose ends not quite knowing what to do with a day with no structure. KnowwhutImean?

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland