Thursday, Jul. 20, 2006 11:37 am

One more step for Mom

Okay, I'm really going to get out of here sooner today and get a pedicure. I will look like my sister's country relative at her party if I don't get these toenails tamed and heels pumiced. What a strange society we are (or is it just me?) that one extremity of the body is so important?

The show last night was good, but a bit of a cluster fuck. I had had my "nerve pill" (as my mother calls them) earlier in the day so I could handle it. Lots of talking and tuning instead of playing, but it is over. And all the performances were really good, no doubt about that. With the ins and outs of artists though, some of the levels changed dramatically. The soundman was having a fit. One guitar player had no level at all and the sound guy was running around trying to figure out why when he discovered that the guitar player didn't know the song so he had turned his own sound off so he could LOOK good, but didn't have to be heard!

I enjoyed visiting with the artists Walt and Sam and Brandon and Autumn and Tina. All very nice people. Also finally met a listener that apparently knew me back in my wild Moon Palace days. He says he was a doorman there in the 80s when I was a regular. I don't remember him at all, but then, that was a long time ago and he's changed (and my mind has withered). He was overexhuberant and was saying, "We'll have to have you and Mark out to the house..." I don't quite know how to tell people at this point, "Uh, I don't socialize with listeners and I can't get Mark to go with me to see much family, much less strangers!" I don't expect it will ever get to that point anyway.

Came home too hot and tired to do anything and Mark was close behind me and just as hot and tired, so we watched the Daily Show and called it a night. I have gotten two logs done this morning and am a little closer to "getting it all done."

Oh, and Mom! Bless her sweet heart. She went to her consultation appointment yesterday and ended up going alone (I guess Dad was in the waiting room? I need to ask). My sister had a hair appointment and it ran over and she couldn't get away to get up there and be with her. But Mom asked her questions and the doctor was super sweet and understanding, but explained that Mother really does need to treat this cancer with radiation because it could come back in a more aggressive way and not be as easy to treat next time. So, before you knew it, Mother went ahead and had the procedure and had the balloon put into her breast to be ready Monday for the actual radiation! I think she may have been better off to be alone. She called me and seemed quite pleased and proud that she had done this. She was worried because she hadn't taken the Valium beforehand that the doctor prescribed, but the doctor said she didn't think Mother would need it because this wasn't as bad as the biopsy and Mom had gone through that like a trooper. So, this step is OVER and she'll have an appointment tomorrow and then I'll be there for Monday and Tuesday's radiation appointments.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland