Monday, Jul. 19, 2004 9:51 pm

Catch up #982

I'm overdue for an entry. My nephews' grandfather died on Friday and the whole family is in Holland now for tomorrow's funeral.

Good example of my parents and their bickering and frustration with one another. As soon as I had talked to my sister and gotten the news, I called my mother. I was worried, too, about Daddy and how he would take this... two of his contemporaries/friends dying (and now it is three with the death of his cousin Sam over the weekend). I called and Dad answered and we talked about Willy and his death, then he put Mother on the line. I said, "It's sad about Willy." Mother said, "Yes, it is." Then a hesitation and realization and she said, "Did he die?" I said, "Yes! Didn't M... call you?" Then I hear "Why didn't you tell me she had called? I might have gone days without knowning?" Daddy is defending himself by saying, "I hollared!" Mom was off in another room and I guess Dad didn't think it was news he needed to get up and walk to tell.

We had Billy Joe and Kinky at the station Friday and Billy singing "Live Forever" made me cry. Too sad that day.

I worked all day Saturday so no going out that night. Just fresh peach cobbler. Yum. Sunday I dragged Mark out to our concert at the Pier. He was unhappy to lose "hours out of my day!" We had fun though, and I was glad for another chance to see the Lost Trailers. I saw them Thursday at Stubb's and they are wonderful.

I'm disjointed because I'm watching TV and emailing as I do this. So if I am misspelling stuff, let's blame the distractions.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland