Sunday, Jul. 16, 2006 9:59 am

Shopping started

Groggy. Mark's already up and out for the NAMM show. I now have about two and a half hours to completely clean the house, iron, mow the lawn, clean the flower beds, compile the genealogy that I've let sit idle for a year, nap, shower, and go to a remote WAY up north. And edit two interviews and at least one more music show. Can she do it? Nah, I'll drink coffee and sit at the computer for half of that and then drink coffee and read the newspaper for the other half.

Had the nicest memory the other night. When we went to see the band at Casbeer's, they playe Picture in a Frame. It is the last cut on the new CD. I've heard the song a lot of times: By Tom Waits, Willie did it, too, and then I've heard it dozens of times now by Seth. But this time I got all teary and weepy. But M&M did too and she wasn't drinking wine so it must have been the moment. I had the memory of the first night Mark and I went out. At some point, with such excitement, he said, "Do you have picture of yourself I can have?" I had never ever had a boy ask for my picture, I don't recall, and this guy wanted it on the first date. I already felt so important to him. I found a picture of myself (this was back in the days where we had to develop film and had physical pictures, kids) and he took it and framed it and had it in his workshop where he could see it while he was making knives. And he is going to love me "'til the wheels come off." Sweet memory.

Man, I have had a bunch of dreams in the last few hours. None that seemed to have great meaning (or any meaning). I dreamed I was living in our Carrollton house (sort of) and it was today and I came into the kitchen where there was a washer and dryer that had jiggled/walked themselves forward into the kitchen and behind them was a trash can just overflowing with nasty trash, like corncobs. I was observing this and thinking how dirty the house was and how I needed to tackle it when I realized that I had this remote in 30 minutes (the one I really have today) and it is way up north and I was late. I needed to get ready right then and go. Then there was a key in the door (and I assumed it was Mark) and my "landlord" and another guy came on into the house and scared me and he said, "I don't know if you know this or not, but you are going to have to testify in a very important trial. It is the trial of a seven year old." I didn't know what he was talking about, but I was nodding as if it all made sense, but I knew he meant that it was about a seven year old, the seven year old wasn't the one on trial.

And I dreamed I was on a school bus with a bunch of kids and people and this little girl came looking for a "wooden tooth" that she had found and took posession of and loved and then it was missing. She was just heartbroken to lose this wooden tooth. She and I cried together and I comforted her (knowing it wasn't going to be a huge thing in her life) and I told her, "This is great for you. Forever, no matter what you lose or have broken, you can always say, 'Well, this is bad, but it isn't as bad as losing that wooden tooth.'"

There wer lots more dreams that I have flashes of: our computer guy at work, my friend M&M in a Halloween costume from the Avengers, Double D was in one, some that were like watching a soap opera and I wasn't even a part. On and on...

I did get myself out of the house and out shopping yesterday. And I found a few things to wear. Of course, as soon as I was out shopping I realized that I not only need things to wear, I need gifts for the honorees at this party this weekend! Crap! I hadn't thought of that. I think a doghouse would be appropriate for my brother-in-law, but I'll find something he'd prefer. When I am out shopping like this (every couple of years) I think, "If I would get out more often and see what is available, I could have a new outfit more frequently and I'd find the bargains and I should do this!" and then, of course, I just don't do it until I am forced into a shopping situation again.

Last night I went to a party at the office next door. M&M was my date, but I got there early and stayed later. I talked to a couple of people I knew and met a few I didn't and will never see again, but I still felt like part of the hip crowd to be there. It was fun.

Mark got home soon after I did last night so none of my house cleaning got done. We watched some TV and went to bed.

Today I hope to get SOMETHING done before I leave the house and then I plan on coming home and taking a nap. After a drive to the far north side of the world and a remote at a cardboard home dealer, I will need a nap. Tonight, nothing. I am staying in.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland