Sunday, Jul. 15, 2007 10:29 am

One Wedding and a Funeral

My coffee isn't as good as Mark's. Or maybe it is because I changed the quantity since it is just me this morning. It just isn't as satisfying. Or maybe it is just because I'm home alone this morning and that isn't as satisfying as having Mark home. He made it to Edinburg late last night.

I spent most of my day yesterday watching Lady Bird's funeral. It didn't start until after 2 p.m. so I did get the kitchen cleaned beforehand and got some laundry done. Then I settled in and painted my fingernails and toenails while I watched. I don't know how respectful that was. There were many sweet stories from granddaughters (were there ever any SONS in that family?) and I love Bill Moyers' tribute to her and her bravery in the face of hateful Southerners during the Civil Rights Era. What a woman.

By 4 p.m. I had to leave the funeral... just before it ended with the UT Band playing the Eyes of Texas at the end, it turns out. I drove to San Antonio for my friends wedding. I love the church they attend. I had been there in November for her sister's funeral, which was incredibly sad, but beautiful. I'm glad this was a more joyous occasion.

The wedding was only about 30 minutes long. They are Episcopalian but their service was from a more modern prayer book. They didn't plight their troth like we did in our ceremony. I discussed it a bit with the priest afterward. He was very nice and his wife was lovely, too. I like Episcopalians, I think. There were SEVEN attendants on each side. I don't know if I could come up with seven people to "attend" me from my whole life! I always appreciate my wedding more when I see other weddings.

The reception was at the museum and it was so nice. Roses everywhere, great food, lots of drink, a band, and on and on. There were several co-workers and past co-workers, so we had a table full. I guess I'm not too much of a partyer. I stayed until about 10 p.m. and had a piece of cake and then headed back toward home. Many of the others had hotel rooms so they could afford to stay and party, and, knowing them, they probably singlehandedly doubled the liquor bill for the party.

Today I have no obligations except to be home. I like Sundays like this. I wish the house were spotless and I could concentrate on gardening or genealogy or something that is just more pleasure, but I will spend some time cleaning and appreciate the outcome.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland