July 11, 2002 11 a.m.

Too Busy

This was supposed to be my rest-up week, especially considering that I am not working at the cafe at all. Instead, I feel like I'm on a treadmill again.

Tuesday night I came home from just the two jobs and I had some commercials to cut for a radio station (my fourth job, after the cafe being the third). My computer didn't want to cooperate and record, no matter how I plugged and unplugged things into it. Mark attempted to help but he is lost once you get to the computer. He helped with mic connections and we got no where. I got on the phone with Steve who patiently talked me so many things and still found no solution. I tried quickly plugging into Mark computer and couldn't get it to record right either. Very weird. So, getting desperate to get these done, I drive all the way downtown to the station to do them. I get there and the one computer that I would be able to use to send these is password protected and unavailable to me. Sure, I could record the spots in a zillion formats up there, but not where I could e-mail them to the client. So I come home and I tear this office up. I pull the computer out so I can get to the back of it and I plug and unplug and work and still have no luck. Then I unplug Mark's computer from all its connections and bring it to my studio and plug and unplug, and lo and behold, I finally got it to record. An unprocessed sound, a little thin and tinny, but I was able to sweeten it up with the effects in the computer program and finally get the spots on their way. Whew. Of course, then I had to put the computers back to serviceable in their regular places. Now today I've got another spot to cut and I'm going to have to figure it all out again. Or be at the station during daylight hours so I can get it recorded there.

Another spanner in the works this week was a remote I didn't know I was scheduled to do. She had mentioned something a week or two ago but I was in the car or at my other job and thought she would bring it up again with the details. She didn't. It was just very fortunate that I dropped by the station Tuesday evening and found the info about the remote Wednesday morning. It was at the Blood and Tissue Center for their blood drive. It turned out good and we had a lot of good people stop by.

Last night I had decided I could skip our weekly Threadgill's music series. I was about worn out and had so much to do. But then our good friend Gary called and he was going to be playing bass for Chris Wall at it so we both ended up going for it and it was a fun time. Met some new people, saw some old friends, enjoyed the Chris Wall music. He's a great songwriter...he used the word hypotenuse (that can't be spelled right) in a song!

I did get invited to come to Luckenbach for a visit/meeting and I thought maybe we could squeeze that in this evening. He had to cancel on me and I'm glad. It really would be a squeeze. Now I might be able to get a little more housecleaning covered before the visit from the folks on Sunday. Of course, I'm also thinking I'd like to go to the cafe and hear the band this evening. Maybe I MAKE my life too busy.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland