Saturday, Jul. 10, 2010 10:03 am

A free weekend

Just re-read my last entry and I realized I never called the social worker for my uncle this week. I visited him Sunday at his nursing home and he says he is moving. He was confused and hard to understand, so maybe he will forget? He kept talking about bus fare from Abilene to Austin. I don't know if he plans on coming to Austin to visit me or expects me to take a bus to visit him. I told him I'm not visiting him in Abilene.

Otherwise, 4th of July was a good weekend. A quick trip. I went up Saturday and made record time with great light traffic and visited my sister that evening. We visited on the patio with rain coming down and then went to Pei Wei for dinner and then played games with the whole family minus nephew #2 who was with friends out of town. Sunday was the reunion, but I went and had breakfast at noon at IHOP with Mom first. Then up to visit the uncle then back to Denton for the gathering. I listened to a lot of Willie's picnic while I drove. Amber Digby, Geezinslaws, The Wheel... It sounded good and I was glad I wasn't there in the sunshine watching it.

The gathering was fun. My nephews and #1's girlfriend were there and were highly entertaining. The baby I hadn't met was a little doll and he just fell in love with my nephew. He was up in his lap over and over and just wanted to be close to him. It was adorable. It made me want him to have kids NOW. My little cousin brought her new boyfriend and I fell in love with him. Very cute and polite and we had a lot in common when it comes to music. I hope she marries him and he's part of our family forever (they are just kids, I shouldn't hope they get married so young).

Then bad things started happening this week related to that cousin. She had on short for the reunion and we have a long history of shorts not being allowed in our family. Of course, that was the 60s and the 70s (and then the 80s). My aunt wrote my other aunt, this cousin's grandmother, and talked about how inappropriately she was dressed and she needed a husband like her youngest's weird husband that would make her dress appropriately and less sexy. Horrifying. I assured my aunt and cousin that she was FINE and to ignore this other aunt, but it really hurt feelings. She also went on and on about how this boy seemed to have a good background while my cousin had a bad upbringing. Well, my cousin has a worthless mother and father (yes, my cousin, her dad, is worthless) but she was raised by my aunt and uncle and they did a wonderful job of raising her. That hurt feelings too. That aunt is a nut job and I told this little cousin that and to not listen to anything she said.

I came home from the reunion straight to Austin on Sunday night. I'm so glad I did. I enjoyed the Willie concert all the way (Ray Price, Jack Ingram, David Allan Coe, Kris Kristofferson, the Refracicles (Willie's son's band that pretty much sucked) and Willie. I also got to see big fireworks on all four sides the whole drive down. I got home long before Mark did and he came in absolutely sunburned, exhausted, and starving. I made him two big sandwiches and he thought I was the best wife in the world (I am).

I got to sleep super late on Monday and garden/mow. Went to see Redd and Floyd play with friends and then came home and typed, though I wanted to go to the east side. Glad I had come back and could do all that.

This has been a good week at work. Lots of rain to watch (and drive through) and no interference from bosses or co-workers to speak of. Yesterday I had that Ecstasy feeling again where I love everybody and everybody loves me. It was great. And last night was brownie night so I bought ice cream and had the brownies cooked by the time Mark got home. It was good.

Thursday we had the house cleaned and that added to my good nature, I'm sure. I cooked a big pasta meal for dinner that night with pasta from Costco.

This weekend we have no company, no plans, no trips. I hope to clean this darn office that plagues me with its messiness and do some genealogy filing too. And typing. I do have typing.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland