Sunday, Jul. 10, 2005 Late night

Sunday week review

I don't know why I'm getting lazy about writing. Maybe because I'm getting lazy about everything? I seem to sleep late, take a nap when I get home, and go to bed early. It isn't really adding up to a more rested Pecan, either. I know sleeping too much is a sign of depression. I don't really feel like I'm falling into depression, just a lull, or the summer heat, maybe.

I have had a full week. I did do the July 4th broadcast from the park and it wasn't nearly as bad as I had anticipated and made it out to be in my head. It was hot, but not over 100, so that made it slightly better. I drank a ton of water and Gatorade and lemonade while I was there and kept wet rags around my neck. The sun went down and the symphony played and the fireworks were really good. And since I had a good parking spot up close I didn't have to do a lot of walking like the other 80,000 people there did.

When I got home from the park the neighbors were in their driveway drinking and shooting fireworks. I sat down with them a little and watched the boys play. I felt a little bit like an outsider, but then, I almost always do, so I can live with that. The police came along and very politely asked us not to shoot fireworks so we stopped.

I went to the San Antonio doctor on Tuesday morning. Sure was hard to get up that early and get down there, but we had a good visit and he answered a lot of my questions about treatment and exercises and prognosis, etc. I had a good hamburger at Chris Madrid's, too. I'd heard a lot about it from Miss Dee at work and she was thrilled I went. I told her that it would have been a better burger if I had had friends with me to laugh and enjoy it with, but for eating alone, it was alright.

Wednesday night we had Reckless Kelly at the series. It was a great show. Those guys are always good. It was hot as could be, but they sweated through it and heated things up. I had a good long talk with MM inside during and after. I drank way too much and stayed way too long, but it was fun at the time. She is going to help me get some publicity and help me connect myself more to the station so that I am indispensable.

Thursday night I was going to go to the Hank show at the Zach with a neighbor. Got up there and the show had been closed! Kind of a drag, but I was so tired it was a relief. I came home and crashed. That was the day it finally rained and I slept through all the rain and loved it.

The weekend has been good. Mark had a big show to do in Belton, but it got cancelled so he ended up having the weekend off, surprisingly. I had a remote yesterday at the mall and I thought that was all. Last night we went out to eat at Vinny's and then to Waterloo to buy a bunch of CDs. That was fun. Got some cool things, including the new Van Morrison. I always have to have his new ones.

I say I thought that the remote was all I had to do. I checked my work email after noon today (I gotta quit doing that!!). Discovered that Cotton expected me to record the show that was airing 11 to 3. Yes, the station was running with no disc jockey on the air. I called him and he said he thought he told me. I think he mentioned it, but in that "Maybe I'll need you" kind of way. I dashed up to the station and recorded the last two hours and came right back home.

We went to lunch at Willie's. Mark hadn't been there before. Came home and I taught Mark how to use Adobe Audition. He loves it. He is editing and fixing his band's recordings and making CDs for demo use. Some German record guy is in town tomorrow and he wanted to have a good CD for him. I may have created a monster. He's been working on it for about 8 hours now.

So that's my catch-up for the week. It wasn't a breakneck speed busy week, but I still wouldn't mind slowing it down another notch or two. The doctor did give me a muscle spasm relaxing medicine that I will try and see if it helps the voice. This has been a hard week struggling to talk. I am hoping to hold out on the Botox until late August, but I can tell I need it now.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland