Thursday, Jul. 01, 2010 6:59 pm

Uncles and Aunts

July has arrived quickly. Too quickly. A hurricane hit Mexico last night with flooding, but hopefully that is the extent of the damage. I guess I'll go make my nightly rendezvous with Brian Williams and get the full story.

I have new computer classes, but I may need to get two pair. Or just leave those here at home where I seem to need them a lot more than at work. Here I am always readjusting and leaning in and out trying to see the screen. It's a bitch to get old.

Rain rain rain this week and more on the way tonight -- also a product of Hurricane Alex. At least it is keeping things cool and it might be relatively cool for Mark this weekend at Willie's picnic. I have decided to go to Denton and attend a family gathering with aunts from Oklahoma and Arkansas and cousins from both states, too. Should be fun. I will get to meet a baby I haven't met yet, but is already good friends with mother. I love this cousin a ton for visiting my mother. I had a special great aunt relationship and I'm glad she does too.

My great uncle, on the other hand, has me worried. He wants to move to Abilene. I think he thinks it will be the Abilene of the 1960s or something. He packed his stuff today and is going to call a truck to come get him and take him to Abilene and find a place. The nursing home was kind enough to call a nursing home there and can arrange a transfer if that's what he wants, but we all hope he gets over it. I told her to go tell him I can't come visit him in Abilene and see if that slows down his fervor. He is an adult and has power over his life so he can go, but if he does he really is going to be cutting himself off. I told all this to my co-worker John and we had a good laugh about "gaslighting" him and giving him the Abilene paper and commenting on the good traffic and hot sandy day outside and make him think he's in Abilene. ha.

My eyes are tired and I think I will go lay down a bit. Don't know when Mark will be home. I will call him first.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland