January 09, 2002 9:57 pm

Another blow, but she's not down yet

I feel like I've had a productive day and that is a good feeling.

As I so psychicly predicted yesterday, I no longer have a job on **** at all (yes, I put the call letters---call and ask what happened to me, except don't call me Pecan). [call letters deleted in sept 2004--- got to cover my tracks, kids] Kind of wish they had TOLD me this information. I checked the schedule for the weekend and, not finding my name, asked the program director. Yes, a budget consideration he tells me with the sad eyes of a crocodile. So, no all-night shift, no weekend shifts, which means no remotes where I represent the station, which, all in all is about a $10000 a year hit on my already almost entry level salary.

But today I did something about it. After a delightful brunch with my old friend Grace and her lovely little one and one of my co-workers that used to work with Grace, I interviewed for a job as a waitress and I will begin next week. I don't know how much time I will get there or whether I will like it but I felt empowered just talking to the guy and being hired. I'm hoping for high dollar tips.

My friend Grace gave me the funnest datebook. It is a datebook for witches. I laughed because I know I must be mentioning my favorite witch store enough here for her to know that that would be appropriate. I also laugh because I can never be a witch. I can never be Wicca or Pagan. I would never allow myself to be Lutheran or Presbyterian for heaven's sake. I certainly wouldn't go out and join a religion I would have to stand up for and defend! I prefer to be a meek little Christian although so many of my beliefs fly in the face of most Christian denominations. I saw a thing in the paper for a Belief O Matic on line where you answered questions and it would tell you what religion you were. Great idea. I've often wished for just that for choosing a church. Even if you know what faith you have it is next to impossible to find a church that fits your needs in all ways. In Dallas I was happily attending a church I was pretty happy with. They rearranged the Sunday school groups to have a "thirty something" group. I liked the idea because the current singles group included everyone from just out of college to old divorced people. I figured the thirty-something group would put me around more people to be friends with or even find a relationship. The first Sunday we met I looked around the room and listened as everyone introduced themselves. First, I noticed there were about 25 women and three men, then I discovered that only three of us in the room didn't have children (which limits all the social interaction, especially for lunch after church) and then I realized that I was the only one in the entire room that had never been married. Pretty weird realization that I didn't want to be friends with anyone in that room. I suppose that technically I'm still a member of that church unless they purge the rolls of people that move.

Wow, how did I get off on that?

Tonight I worked and worked and cleaned off the desk, doing all the little tasks like insurance filings and bill paying and sorting of things that I usually pass on. I cleaned the kitchen and I did some cleaning on my own office in the front of the house. A new job and all the cleaning has made me feel good.

Oh, and I made an appointment with a therapist for tomorrow too. It is time I get over all this angst and boo-hooyness.

Now I have stayed up late enough that I should sleep. Last night I was sleepy, I took a hot bath, I read and then I laid there and laid there and maybe got two hours of "good" sleep before the alarm. Tonight I might get five hours but it will be a better sleep, I'm sure.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland